Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this following the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! I will definitely keep this recipe and double the batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
way too much lime- made it bitter and the red onion was over powering. I would use 1/2 c of white onion and 1/2 - 1 lime only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I went EXACTLY as the recipe stated, and I never use recipes, but I wanted to dare to be different, especially with all the rave reviews. My salsa came out sooooooo SOUR!!! I have just spent the last 3 hours trying to fix it and ended up turning it into an actual salsa with canned tomatoes and sugar and cumin to try and tame the sourness. It is still uber sour, and I am really upset about it. I'm trying to understand if all the amazing reviewers love the sourness of that much lime juice? I don't get it. And the amount of red onion is crazy! 1/2 a cup would have been plenty and I will forever use a sweet yellow onion from now on, the red onion is way too overpowering. If I am missing something from this recipe and I made a mistake, then please let me know, otherwise, this recipe is terrible in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is my new go to recipe for Pico de Gallo. I followed the recipe and only added some extra jalepeno, which I discovered wasn't really necessary. Marinating the onion and jalepeno in the lime juice first really brings out the flavor. We even top broiled whitefish with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I love this recipe, and so do all my neighbors! I use fresh tomatoes and jalapeños from my garden, add fresh garlic. I make batches that serve 24, but I do put it in the food processor because I am a busy Mom and I don't have time to hand chop. This does get better every day it sits in the fridge until it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ryder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I read a bunch of pico de gallo recipes before coming to this one.I skipped everyone before this because they wern't authentic pico de gallo. This is the only pico de gallo recipe I put in my recipe box. I was looking for a authentic pico de gallo & here it is, Only authentic pico de gallo recipe on this website. Garlic does not belong in pico de gallo or garlic powder or seasoning & that isn't a personal preference I have NEVER seen it made that way & I've eaten lots of pico de gallo. Just so that anyone trying to add garlic or any of that other stuff knows. Also blending the pico de gallo, well that makes it salsa, not pico de gallo. This recipe is *perfect* as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Try adding boiled shrimp and a dab of cilantro and you have a Mexican shrimp cocktail...awesome!!! A little avocado and garlic never hurt. jdm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved the salsa...I added some minced garlic and a tsp o sugar...it complemented the lime..we loved it ! --Mona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Very tasty and easy. Love the lime flavor. I followed the recipe exactly (for once!) and it turned out great. We had it on tacos and there is plenty leftover for quesadillas today. Can't wait to polish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is very good with the addition of a good dose of chopped garlic! Next time I might try reducing the salt to 1/2 t. Thanks for sharing, thebioteacher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States