Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Wow! I wanted a quick-to-make dinner and knew this was the recipe to try. In lieu of the hot sauce I minced up @1/2" of habanero and added @1/4 tsp ground habanero (we love our heat!) as well and subbed out the apricot jam for a mango-peach jam that I had on hand. Absolutely delicious the first night and equally so the next day for lunch! I did have to remove the cooked chicken pieces to a bowl and reduce the sauce to my desired thickness and then return the chicken to the sauce. I turned the heat off and covered the skillet and it sat for @1/2 hour until all were ready for dinner, and then reheated quickly. What a great make-ahead entree this will be! Served over white rice and with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very tasty and fast! I've made this a couple of times now and it always disappears at the table. I added about 1/4 cup of coconut milk and about a teaspoon of cornstarch to it the second time I made it, and it was a little thicker and richer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was amazing.. I added some cayanne and more hot sauce, which i used RedDevil, and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kb1030

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love this dish! I've made it twice and both times it was amazing. The only change I made was to use the sugar-free apricot preserves. I don't even like sugar-free stuff usually but it tastes great in here with less carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe is a perfect balance of sweet and savory. I added sauteed eggplant to the chicken and served with saffron rice. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinaLin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
we thought this was very good. made as written for the most part, but did not lime zest, so subbed lime juice instead. i used whole chicken breasts off the bone. thanks for the recipe evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was absolutely yummy. Used peach preserves instead of apricot because I really thought they were apricot preserves *doh* but otherwise followed recipe exactly! Thank you very much for the recipe Evin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was excellent! I think next time I may add potatoes and carrots to make it a bit more substantial. I served it over couscous and there were NO LEFTOVERS! It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fondukes
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used cod instead of chicken, which wasn't that great, but I give this 5 stars because I can just imagine how much better it would be if I did what the recipe says! The sauce was awesome, and I only used 1 cup of chicken stock. I baked the fish with 2x the seasonings called for plus 1 tbsp each olive oil, melted butter and lime juice. I baked at 375 in a foil pack for about 15 minutes, then I transferred the fish to another baking dish, added the sauce and cooked for another 10 minutes. It was rather well done, but that's how I like it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I changed this up a bit, instead of apricots I added orange marmalade then stirred in some corn starch and water to thicken up the sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States