Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I thought this was a little too sweet... it still tastes good, but we don't particularly like sweet meats. Easy to put together though and if you like sweet stuff, this recipe might interest you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This turned out well. I followed the ingredients pretty closely (except forgot to add the lime zest and butter at the end) and I did add a few other spices (a little bit of cayenne, cumin and curry powder) along with the garam masala. I followed other suggestions and used mostly cider vinegar with a little bit of balsamic, and didn't find the vinegar flavor/tang overpowering. I thought the flavors were great, but it was a little bit sweet for me. I also added in a little bit of cornstarch to help thicken the sauce, since I didn't have time to continue reducing it. Overall a good recipe, but watch out if you don't like things too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Super easy, super quick. Very tasty. I only used about half a cup of apricot jam - it seemed like it would be too sweet with a whole cup. Make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was my first foray into Indian food and it was delicious.I subbed the white vinegar with cider vinegar, the lime zest with lemon zest, and the hot pepper sauce with red pepper. I served it over rice with broccoli on the side and and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was a bit disappointed in this recipe. There are enough ingredients that I expected it to taste more complex but it came out flat to me. I love indian food and this didn't feed that craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just okay. Kind of sweet for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. The only thing I would recommend is to use only 1/2 cup chicken stock as the sauce was a bit runny and needed to be reduced. Excellent flavor and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good, very easy. My husband thought it needed celery and mushrooms, I thought the celery would have made a nice additions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe has become one of my regulars. The only thing I do differently is that I use canned apricots instead to avoid the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was really good. I used about 1.5 lbs of chicken since I wanted it to last for two nights and didn't change anything else and it was fantastic. I forgot the lime and it was still great, but I think it would make this dish even better, adding an extra layer of flavor. Next time for sure! I served it with basmati rice (good with soaking up the extra sauce) and broccoli. We loved this dish and it was really easy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States