Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Yum, yum! Score, the fellas in the family loved it, too! I like it because it doesn't use flour to thicken it. However, it would be a good idea to allow the sauce to reduce by half before adding the chicken back to the pan, and I only used 1 cup of chicken stock. I used blsl chicken breasts instead of the higher priced tenders. Will definitely repeat. Thanks, MomZilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
4 stars since I tweaked it a bit. Used fresh garlic instead of powder and halved the hot sauce. Also used apple cider vinegar. Otherwise made as directed. Very, very good result. Perfect balance of sweet and sour. Next time I'll add some curry powder and ground cumin for more of what (I think) would be a taste if India. Served with basmati rice and steamed zukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Pretty tasty, not very Indian flavored though. Seems like a very Americanized recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is delicious. I usually don't add the full 1 cup of stock at first. Also, I add a bit of corn starch since I prefer a slightly thicker sauce. We serve this with na'an bread (found at our grocery store) and rice. We have a local Indian restaurant that sells the Garam Masala, and its much less expensive than some of our specialty food stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very easy to make. My husband loved it, but my son thought it was a bit too sweet. Maybe my preserves are sweeter than most. Next time I will cut on the preserves or maybe increase the vinegar. I could see making this with ground chicken and all the spices in a cocktail chicken ball and serving with the sauce as an appetizer. Not sure if I would put the onion in the sauce or the chickenball .Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Too sweet as is. Use all fruit and a little honey instead of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is super tasty. I have been wanting to get Garam Marsala for a while, so I made a special trip to the Indian market to get it. Super easy and super good. My husband said I could double the recipe next time. One pound was not enough for the 3 of us. Used 3/4 cup of the apricot preserves and 1 cup of chicken broth for one pound and it was sweet enough for us. Will make over and over again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nebo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
awesome food! Family loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I didn't think this was the best, but it was good and everyone in my family ate it (without complaints so that's a good sign). I mixed up the recipe for "easy garam masala" on this site to use in this. Next time I will use a little less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Okay...WOW! This recipe is so good! I did use sugar free apricot preserves, but it is PLENTY sweet! I also followed some of the reviewer's suggestions for adding in some extra veggies and using Apple Cider Vinegar in place of the white. At the VERY END, I tossed in some frozen carrots and peas just to bump up the veggies. This recipe is DA BOMB!!!!! ALERT!!!! My husband just got up for SECONDS! This is a KEEPER! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States