Evil Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made this last night for a group of friends and got amazing reviews! I didn't use a roasting bag because I forgot to pick one up...so I basted with the pan juices about every 30 minutes. The chiles on the top looked a little brown so I covered with foil for the remaining hour. Total cooking time was 4 1/2 hrs. Spices not overwhelming but you could still taste them! I have the remains simmering right now for soup...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious, Unique and very outgoing recipe for a very outgoing Thanksgiving Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband has been calling me "evil" since our 20th year and when I seen this recipe, I volunteered to make the turkey for Thanksgiving. They LOVED it!! My husband calls me "evil" still; but now I take it as a complimant! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe for one of my turkeys on thanksgiving it was a huge hit with the family. all though I did t tweak the recipe I added 1/3 of a cup of honey and instead of just a cup of whiskey I used 2 cups of crown royal maple and it gave it an amazing smoky sweet flavor with a small amount of bite at the end. I used it on a 15lbs turkey and baked at 325 for 3hours and 45 mins to ensure supreme juiciness after cooking let rest for 5 mins then carve and put all meat back in the juices and keep warm until severing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used this recipe for the stuffing but with an addition. I first fried together the chopped onion, the garlic and a fresh red bell pepper, then added the can of roasted peppers, the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I found in a Mexican grocery) and the cup of whiskey. This was the best tasting turkey I ever had, and everybody around the table was delighted. I do not eat hot or spicy food, and I was afraid that the chipotle pepper sauce would be too hot, but actually it is not, and it adds a very special flavor to the whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My husband and I had this for our very first Thanksgiving together. It was amazing! So moist, and such a great change from the traditional. We used a chicken since it was just the two of us. Just checked with the thermometer to make sure it was cooked all the way. Still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is the bomb! I was scared to death whole time it was roasting but was completely surprised when it came out great! I followed the instructions as is and you guys, it's really not spicy at all and the flavors really do come through! I completely recommend this if you're like me and looking for something with some intrigue to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern_rn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is terrific. I made it a day in advance of a large family gathering. The flavors were subtle; not hot or too spicy. The meat was very moist and tasty. I used the leftovers to make the Tex Mex Soup from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Loved the turkey. The only thing I changed was I rubbed the peppers under the skin as well and pricked the bird all over with a fork. It was excellent and went well with vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Flavor was very good! Cooked tented in foil. Next time would try the bag. Breast meat was a little dry. I had a 14 lb. turkey and cooked it for 3 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. Loved the flavor of the veggies inside the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States