Everything Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I put in some whole wheat flour in place of some of the bread flour, and used 1/2 cup honey in place of the sugar. Realistically, this makes 3 or 4 loaves, not just 2! Great taste! I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor of the salt in the topping! I braided both loaves differently, for variety's sake! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delish! First time ever making a braided bread and I'm so happy with the results. It was light and fluffy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used my bread machine to mix the dough and it was pretty tricky since it was overflowing, but I'm glad I did it! I let it cycle through the dough setting while following the directions until Step 2 when I took it out and let it rise in a huge bowl. My loaves looked like they came from a fancy bakery! I love the way the inside is twisted and has an airy texture. I'm going to make it again and serve it with veggie cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADub311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I was very happy to find a recipe that was exactly what I was looking for..."everything" bread, and I've made challah for years. It was very good, but my garlic and dried onions came out kind of burned. I'll just need to tweak my cooking temp/time a little, or maybe spray the loaves with cooking spray after putting on the topping. I will definitely be making this again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonk Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
this is the only water challah recipe i could find on this site, & we've tried it with & without the seasonings. it's ok with, but i think it's better without. either way, it's a tasty water-challah recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was so easy to make and looked so beautiful that I felt bad cutting into it! Everyone in the family loved this bread and so did the neighbours. Since there was 2 large loaves we had one to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Talonstorm
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent tasting bread. My braid pulled apart some, but it tasted fine. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talonstorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Good Bread But it sure does not taste like Challah, there is no richness to it. It taste like a lite bagel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States