Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Oh, how I wish I had read these reviews before I made these cookies yesterday. I found that the dough was VERY difficult to work with. So sticky that I couldn't get it off my hands! I agree that you have to use a SIGNIFICANT amount of flour in order to be able to manipulate the dough. I am somewhat pleased with the taste, but I wouldn't use this recipe again just because of the aggravation in working with the dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've been using this recipe for years and wanted to pass on some helpful tips. All butter is not created equal! For this recipe the quality of your butter makes a big difference. If on the side of the box it states that it "meets specifications for grade declared" then you can count on a low butter quality. Use only the best butter you can afford. Also for this recipe I use extra large eggs. This helps with the texture and makes the dough easier to work with. I also add an extra teaspoon of vanilla. If the dough is still too soft after trying these suggestions, I have found that using half butter half shortening works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
The end result is nice, but getting there is WAY too much trouble. "Knead in enough flour to make the dough workable" translates to about 3 more cups, which leads to a slightly cake-like cookie. Not to mention the trouble of adding all that flour. I reduced the amount of milk to 1/4 cup, and added it in teaspoons as I mixed, but that still didn't help -- neither did freezing the dough for an hour, although it did make it *slightly* easier to work. If you don't mind all that, then the recipe is worth it for the soft taste (altho I did add about a tablespoon of lemon rind). However, *I* will definitely be using a different recipe for sugar-cookies. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I love trying new recipes, so many times when I make cookies (which is very, very frequently) I try something from this site that I've never tried before. I followed this recipe precisely, using large (not extra large) eggs and they turned out great. As usual, I didn't refrigerate the dough, but immediately rolled out cookies between two sheets of wax paper, dipped cutter into flour, cut out the cookies and placed them on foil-lined sheets. (But make sure the shiny side is down and cookies are placed on dull side. Otherwise, too much heat will be reflected and cookies will burn.) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
My family and I just didn't like the taste of these cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and found it to taste more like flour than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I have never had much luck with sugar cookies, UNTIL NOW. These were easy, no chilling required (which I love), easy to roll out, and they don't get hard after baking like others I've tried. Family loved them! All around excellent. Great recipe! I highly recommend. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Poor recipe! Dough was very sticky and ended up adding a lot of flour. Cookies turned out to be more like a cake. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this roll out recipe. The dough is soft, easily malleable and has a wonderful consistancy for a roll out recipe. For me the instruction to "knead in enough flour" is wonderful because I often times find that recipes which are too strictly written do not turn out right for me. With this recipe it is more to the taste of the baker than to that of the recipe writter. What amazes me the most with this recipe is how wonderfully the dough can be rolled out thin then puff beautifully when baked. The almost cakelike consistancy when rolled thick makes them perfect for Black and White cookies. This recipe is a family favorite now in our house hold after I made christmas cookies with it last year and they didn't last longer than one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaKaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
very easy to roll out... didn't need a lot of extra flour like others suggested. I did chill the dough, but found that it worked the best when it wasn't too cold- or too warm. just a little cooler than room temp worked best for me. I've found my new sugar cookie recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made these cookies exactly as written and they were a huge sticky mess! I needed to ad at least 2 more cups of flour to make it workable and the result was a dense horrible cookie. sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States