Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This was a very good tasting recipe, but I had wanted to make cut out cookies ... not the recipe for it! Ended up rolling them into balls and then letting the kids decorate with frosting. I will make again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
These sugar cookies were very good they remind me of the ones my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is the long lost recipe my family has been searching for.I have been trying diff. recipes to match that of my grandmothers. They aren't too flavorful, but with sugar granules sprinkled ontop, they are just perfect and so reminiscent of growing up in her house. Thank you...(sniff)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I found the dough to be very soft, but with added flour, it worked out well. The dough didn't even need to be rolled out; I just patted it down and cut out shapes. By themselves, even with added vanilla the cookies were quite bland, but with frosting and sprinkles they were fabulous. Perfect taste, not too sweet, and very soft. I very highly recommend them if you're planning on frosting them. Otherwise, I would find a sweeter sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These cookies came out of the blender WAY TOO SOFT!!! Then - by the time I added another 2-cups of flour - they tasted like four balls once baked. I should have called my mother for her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
If the dough is too sticky and difficult to work with you are not adding enough flour. This recipe takes a lot. I also added a little vanilla to the recipe, and I got lovely, soft sugar cookies that took frosting well, help up and didn't crumble, and got rave reviews. Definitely keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Very Very AGGRAVATING!!!! The dough is to soft and to sticky. You can not kneed in enough dough to make this receipe work. It sticks to everything!!! Plus it is not sweet enough. The tops have to have sugar added to them in order for it to even come close to tasting like a sugar cookie. I will never use this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I'll be using this recipe again over and over. It ws so easy and I was able to get alot of cookies out out it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I, too, wish I would have read the reviews. This dough is too difficult to work with! It's incredibly soft and sticky. I'm afraid to keep adding flour to it, for fear of what it might do to the taste. My search for sugar cookies continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Oh, how I wish I had read these reviews before I made these cookies yesterday. I found that the dough was VERY difficult to work with. So sticky that I couldn't get it off my hands! I agree that you have to use a SIGNIFICANT amount of flour in order to be able to manipulate the dough. I am somewhat pleased with the taste, but I wouldn't use this recipe again just because of the aggravation in working with the dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States