Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I have never had much luck with sugar cookies, UNTIL NOW. These were easy, no chilling required (which I love), easy to roll out, and they don't get hard after baking like others I've tried. Family loved them! All around excellent. Great recipe! I highly recommend. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Took alot of flour before being rolled out in additional flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I only used this recipe because my good one was boxed up. This was terrible to work with. I knew I should not have added the milk. I am sure that they will be tasteless when cooked because I had to add so much flour to cut them out and get them off the board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've been using this recipe for years and wanted to pass on some helpful tips. All butter is not created equal! For this recipe the quality of your butter makes a big difference. If on the side of the box it states that it "meets specifications for grade declared" then you can count on a low butter quality. Use only the best butter you can afford. Also for this recipe I use extra large eggs. This helps with the texture and makes the dough easier to work with. I also add an extra teaspoon of vanilla. If the dough is still too soft after trying these suggestions, I have found that using half butter half shortening works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was the best sugar cookie recipie. Not to sticky just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I really liked this recipe. They baked up really nice and fluffy. The kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
The cookies turned out okay, but there is not nearly enough flour to roll them. I added probably a cup (I had doubled the recipe) while mixing and kneaded in more after refrigerating them overnight. There is no set height to roll them either. I rolled varying heights and ended up with twice as many as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I also found it very soft. I think I would have done without some of the milk. I used 1/2 cup and I think that was too much. Next time, I will try without any milk and see how that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
i followed recipe exactly it was way to runny and sticky. it tasted more like flower then cookies.i will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
These cookies needed A LOT of flour. I found myself adding too much, and the final product tasted a little like cornbread. They tasted ok, but not like a sugar cookie should taste. I even added some orange extract and vanilla extract for more flavor, but they still came out a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States