Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This year I had my neices, nephews and sisters out for a cookie baking party. We had a blast. This is the recipe I used. It made alot of cookies. Next time I might add a little more sugar. I plan to make this my recipe every year. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I love trying new recipes, so many times when I make cookies (which is very, very frequently) I try something from this site that I've never tried before. I followed this recipe precisely, using large (not extra large) eggs and they turned out great. As usual, I didn't refrigerate the dough, but immediately rolled out cookies between two sheets of wax paper, dipped cutter into flour, cut out the cookies and placed them on foil-lined sheets. (But make sure the shiny side is down and cookies are placed on dull side. Otherwise, too much heat will be reflected and cookies will burn.) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was a horrible recipe.. I should have read the reviews, I was excited because of the no chill-but, we shouldn't have wasted our time or ingredients.... The cookies all got thrown out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The cookie itself was... okay. I've definately had better. The flour method was horrible though, and I ended up adding 1 cup more flour per batch to the bowl, just so it didn't stick to everything! When it was finally ready, it was VERY easy to roll out, and had a lovely texture, but it wasn't as sweet as I would have liked. I did also add almond or else it would have just been flavorless. I would either use a lot of sprinkles in future, or frosting would be even better. Oh, and it does make more cookies than listed, too. I make a quadruple batch for holiday cookies, and it ended up making 17 dozen, rather than 12. I had to give them away to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. The cookies are soft and fluffy and have a great sweet taste. Instead of adding just the 1 1/2 cups of sugar, i suggest adding 2 cups. Every time i make these i get requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressap

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I just made thses and they are really easy and good. I read many reviews that said the dough was sticky and hard to work with so I decided to leave out the milk all together. It worked perfectly. I didn't need to add any additional flour, it was perfect rolling consistancy. I also used butter instead of shortning, but that is just my preference. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I have never had much luck with sugar cookies, UNTIL NOW. These were easy, no chilling required (which I love), easy to roll out, and they don't get hard after baking like others I've tried. Family loved them! All around excellent. Great recipe! I highly recommend. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Took alot of flour before being rolled out in additional flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I only used this recipe because my good one was boxed up. This was terrible to work with. I knew I should not have added the milk. I am sure that they will be tasteless when cooked because I had to add so much flour to cut them out and get them off the board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've been using this recipe for years and wanted to pass on some helpful tips. All butter is not created equal! For this recipe the quality of your butter makes a big difference. If on the side of the box it states that it "meets specifications for grade declared" then you can count on a low butter quality. Use only the best butter you can afford. Also for this recipe I use extra large eggs. This helps with the texture and makes the dough easier to work with. I also add an extra teaspoon of vanilla. If the dough is still too soft after trying these suggestions, I have found that using half butter half shortening works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States