Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I started this recipe before reading the reviews, but then noticed it got only 3.5 stars. I decided to continue, but did make some adjustments that may help others. I was surprised at the amount of milk, so I only added small splashes of milk after the second and third flour additions. The dough looked about right, but was still a bit difficult to work with. Instead of using flour to keep the dough from sticking, I used powdered sugar...same results as flour but better taste for the cookies. I did also add 1 tsp of vanilla, as some had said it was bland tasting. I also baked the cookies for about 8 minutes, as in my oven, 10 minutes made them too brown. Good cookie, with those changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. Remember to put alot of flour on surface and carefully manipulate dough. I divide in 1/4's which makes it easier to handle. I add almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Add some almond extract and they are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This all in all was a good recipe. The cookies turned out great, and no need to refridgerate the dough before rolling ( a great time saver). However I did add a tsp of vanilla extract (kinda surprised it didnt call for vanilla or almond extract?) not sure how they would have turned out without it. Also you really did have to add ALOT of flour to the dough when kneading it. ALOT of flour, so it was messy. I had so much dough sticking to me and everything. But once you got the consistancy right....it rolled out SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very bland cookie. Shaped up well and was easy to cut when I added an extra cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
The dough is sort of hard to work with (very sticky), but is totally worth it. These have the best flavor of any sugar cookie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I give this recipe 2 stars. My husband summed it up pretty well by saying, "they look like cookies, they smell like cookies, but they sure taste like nothing!" Also this batter was very sticky and hard to work even after refrigerating. I was looking for a soft, chewy, flavorful sugar cookie to make for Christmas. This was not the sugar cookie recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The dough was only slightly thicker than a muffin batter, even after being refrigerated. The cookies distorted as I tried to place them on the cookie sheets. I added vanilla and decorated with sugar, but they were still bland! Sorry. The hunt for lactose free cookies continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absolutely delectable! If you use butter shortening instead of regular, and cover in sugar they are going to fly off the plate like mine did. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States