Evelyn's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
BLAH cookie, no flavor... i tossed the whole batch and started over, if i could give it less then one star i would. if your looking for a classic christmas cookie that people will want to eat... keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Tillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
If you are hesitating, TRY THIS RECIPE!!! I am absolutely amazed. I was looking for a recipe that required no chilling, and I came across this. My 5 yo son and I made them together, so for those people complaining about the kneading: A 5 year old can do it! This recipe is WAAYY easier than most sugar cookie recipes. If you're looking for homemade, quick, fun sugar cookies, this is it. The baking soda/powder combo created a light, fluffy, airy deliciousness that is unlike any I've ever tried. We were making Christmas cookies- these are beautiful, and more importantly, delicious! No modifications required. I wish I could give it 10 stars. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I started this recipe before reading the reviews, but then noticed it got only 3.5 stars. I decided to continue, but did make some adjustments that may help others. I was surprised at the amount of milk, so I only added small splashes of milk after the second and third flour additions. The dough looked about right, but was still a bit difficult to work with. Instead of using flour to keep the dough from sticking, I used powdered sugar...same results as flour but better taste for the cookies. I did also add 1 tsp of vanilla, as some had said it was bland tasting. I also baked the cookies for about 8 minutes, as in my oven, 10 minutes made them too brown. Good cookie, with those changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. Remember to put alot of flour on surface and carefully manipulate dough. I divide in 1/4's which makes it easier to handle. I add almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Add some almond extract and they are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This all in all was a good recipe. The cookies turned out great, and no need to refridgerate the dough before rolling ( a great time saver). However I did add a tsp of vanilla extract (kinda surprised it didnt call for vanilla or almond extract?) not sure how they would have turned out without it. Also you really did have to add ALOT of flour to the dough when kneading it. ALOT of flour, so it was messy. I had so much dough sticking to me and everything. But once you got the consistancy right....it rolled out SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very bland cookie. Shaped up well and was easy to cut when I added an extra cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
The dough is sort of hard to work with (very sticky), but is totally worth it. These have the best flavor of any sugar cookie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I give this recipe 2 stars. My husband summed it up pretty well by saying, "they look like cookies, they smell like cookies, but they sure taste like nothing!" Also this batter was very sticky and hard to work even after refrigerating. I was looking for a soft, chewy, flavorful sugar cookie to make for Christmas. This was not the sugar cookie recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States