Eva's Savory Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have made this recipe several times, always to rave reviews. Made it most recently with prepackaged "stovetop" stuffing mix, adding the herbs listed in the recipe (we love herb-rich recipes!). Served with simply prepared sweet potatoes, quartered, boiled and augmented with dried cranberries added the last five minutes with a teaspoon of sweet butter. Simple, easy, and made the house smell like Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These were tasty. Very tender, & the stuffing turned out delish, I made extra stuffing which was very similar to this recipe (slow cooker stuffing, also on this web site) on the side because we are stuffing lovers! Thanks Charles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Turkey legs were .99/lb. at the store, so I thought I would try this recipe. I love turkey, and especially dark meat, and I was really hoping this recipe would taste like a little Thanksgiving. No such luck. The legs were extremely bland - and I even added onion powder and garlic powder to the salt and pepper. It was moist though, but thats dark meat for you. The stuffing, however, was really good, even though I had omitted the walnuts and cranberries. Thats why this recipe got 3 stars, without the stuffing I would probably only rate this 1 star. I also used chicken broth in place of the water, and doubled the stuffing recipe - glad I did that, b/c even after doubling, my husband and I (the only ones eating) only got one scoop of stuffing each. I'm not a picky eater, but I did not like these turkey legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was good but not great. I liked the list of ingredients but just did not have a lot of flavor. Maybe if you opened the packet and let the drum legs brown up a little bit it would have been OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Thanks Charles' grandma! This is indeed a tasty, easy and inexpensive recipe. Even when I added a step (sauteed veg for stuffing before mixing with breadcrumbs) it still only took 30 minutes to prepare and then was unwatched in the oven. I did remove the skin from the turkey legs but they were still moist and delicious. Even my meat-avoiding preschoolers gobbled this up--not to mention my husband who nearly sucked the bones dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I made this but made a small change by making stuffed boneless legs. I used two whole turkey legs with thighs still attached. Cracked the bone at the "ankle" and deboned the whole leg (leaving the end of the ankle still on). Then stuffed each one and secured with skewers. Elegant stuffed boneless turkey for the dark meat lovers! Thanks Charles for your recipe and reminding me of my boneless preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I loved it! I did double the stuffing as suggested by others and forgot to put the egg in it which didn't matter. It turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Great tasting. Used breadcrumbs because that was all I had and it turned out great. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These turkey legs need much longer than 1 hour to cook. After 1 hour I took them out of the oven and grilled them for another 30 minutes over medium heat. The stuffing was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Okay but not quite what I am looking for. My youngest son really liked the stuffing after he picked out the cranberries. He had two helpings of that. Thanks Charles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States