European Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
This is really good black bread . My family sat down and ate the whole loaf in about 20 minutes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My husband said this didn't taste like the Black Bread he'd had while stationed in Germany, but that it was still very good. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it by hand. The crust is crispy and the inside tender and firm with a good texture. The kids loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Excellent black bread! Taste and texture are great; moist, not spongy, won't fall apart when you spread butter on it. Even my 2-year-old grandson likes it a lot. The fact that I no longer have to buy this type of bread from "specialty bakeries" makes it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This makes a smaller loaf. I didn't have oat bran, so I used toasted wheat germ. I also didn't have caroway seed, so I substituted fennel seed. It turned out GREAT!!! The whole family loved it. Thank you for awonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
It's great to have a black bread choice for the bread machine. This is a little strong, so I cut the cocoa a little, and the vinegar. It is very flavorful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is one of very few recipes that comes out nice in my Sunbeam breadmaker. It had nice flavor and texture. The loaf had a nice shape also. I don't keep oat bran in the pantry so substituted cornmeal with good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I substituted fennel seed for the caraway seed since I didn't have any. I also don't have a bread machine, so I baked it at 190C for 35 minutes and it turned out great. The bread tastes great and the fennel seed adds a nice flavor. I would've given it a five if I didn't find the cocoa powder to be just a tinsy bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good bread, but not as European as I was hoping. Still looking for an Austrian type bread recipe to satisfy my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Awesome bread! I have looked all my life for a soft rye bread and this is it. I followed instructions in the bread machine but then formed it into a round loaf and put it on a sheet with cornmeal on the baking sheet and sprinkled more on the top. I slit the top about 4 times with and X and let raise until doubled. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Crisp crust with soft inside. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Something doesn't taste right in this recipe - I wouldn't call it European at all. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States