European Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
This is really good black bread . My family sat down and ate the whole loaf in about 20 minutes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My husband said this didn't taste like the Black Bread he'd had while stationed in Germany, but that it was still very good. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it by hand. The crust is crispy and the inside tender and firm with a good texture. The kids loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Excellent black bread! Taste and texture are great; moist, not spongy, won't fall apart when you spread butter on it. Even my 2-year-old grandson likes it a lot. The fact that I no longer have to buy this type of bread from "specialty bakeries" makes it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This makes a smaller loaf. I didn't have oat bran, so I used toasted wheat germ. I also didn't have caroway seed, so I substituted fennel seed. It turned out GREAT!!! The whole family loved it. Thank you for awonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
It's great to have a black bread choice for the bread machine. This is a little strong, so I cut the cocoa a little, and the vinegar. It is very flavorful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is one of very few recipes that comes out nice in my Sunbeam breadmaker. It had nice flavor and texture. The loaf had a nice shape also. I don't keep oat bran in the pantry so substituted cornmeal with good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I substituted fennel seed for the caraway seed since I didn't have any. I also don't have a bread machine, so I baked it at 190C for 35 minutes and it turned out great. The bread tastes great and the fennel seed adds a nice flavor. I would've given it a five if I didn't find the cocoa powder to be just a tinsy bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good bread, but not as European as I was hoping. Still looking for an Austrian type bread recipe to satisfy my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Culp Wenzelmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Awesome bread! I have looked all my life for a soft rye bread and this is it. I followed instructions in the bread machine but then formed it into a round loaf and put it on a sheet with cornmeal on the baking sheet and sprinkled more on the top. I slit the top about 4 times with and X and let raise until doubled. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Crisp crust with soft inside. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Something doesn't taste right in this recipe - I wouldn't call it European at all. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States