European Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Great recipe. Made some adjustmens for high altitude, 6700 ft. above sea level. Added 3 Tbsp water reduced vinger to 1, used molasses in place of corn syrup. reduced yeast to 1.25 tsp. set machine on dough cycle, the baked in the oven after punching down and 2nd raise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Fantastic! I baked this in the oven at 350 degrees for half an hour and it was perfect. Everyone who ate it loved it. This bread takes me back to the Middle Ages when this was the common bread. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This isn't bad, but I certainly wouldn't call it European or black bread. Tastes like a regular rye that you can purchase at the grocery store in the USA. I didn't think it would taste like European black bread, so I wasn't disappointed. My parents are here and my mom liked it, so it's a success. Rye isn't my favorite, though, so I probably won't make it often. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I thought this is too soft to be called European bread. This is rather American style sandwitch bread. If you like soft textured bread, you will like it. I am not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Something doesn't taste right in this recipe - I wouldn't call it European at all. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Awesome bread! I have looked all my life for a soft rye bread and this is it. I followed instructions in the bread machine but then formed it into a round loaf and put it on a sheet with cornmeal on the baking sheet and sprinkled more on the top. I slit the top about 4 times with and X and let raise until doubled. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Crisp crust with soft inside. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good bread, but not as European as I was hoping. Still looking for an Austrian type bread recipe to satisfy my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I substituted fennel seed for the caraway seed since I didn't have any. I also don't have a bread machine, so I baked it at 190C for 35 minutes and it turned out great. The bread tastes great and the fennel seed adds a nice flavor. I would've given it a five if I didn't find the cocoa powder to be just a tinsy bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is one of very few recipes that comes out nice in my Sunbeam breadmaker. It had nice flavor and texture. The loaf had a nice shape also. I don't keep oat bran in the pantry so substituted cornmeal with good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
It's great to have a black bread choice for the bread machine. This is a little strong, so I cut the cocoa a little, and the vinegar. It is very flavorful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States