Ethiopian Vegetable Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really tasty and filling - my only recommendation would be to make this in a big stock pot rather than a skillet, since it makes a TON. I couldn't find fenugreek seeds so I researched online and subbed in a tsp of mustard seed and a tiny, tiny amount of maple syrup, but other than that I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this is a tasty, easy to prepare dish of whole vegetables with plenty of seasonings, that goes well with rice or quinoa, and especially yummy with Injera, an Ethiopian flatbread recipe that is also very simple to prepare. I make it without the oil, toasting the seasonings dry before adding wet ingredients. This takes the calorie count down, so i can feel good about eating it whenever I want. It tastes good fresh out of the pot, and is even better the next day. This recipe will be in my top ten, for sure. One I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just made it pretty much as written but used ground fenugreek instead of fenugreek seeds. After adding all vegetables I cooked it for like 15 minutes before adding the liquids, because it seemed like it was best to do this to "cook down" the vegetable bulk a bit. In fact, it was hard to fit all this into the largest pot I had available, so halving the recipe might be a good move for some kitchens. Results were pretty good, I was pleased and my husband even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmk1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
A delicious option for serving vegetarian friends. Next time I'll try adding chopped chicken; it just seems right for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this Ethiopian-inspired dish. It happened to have everything I was trying to use from my winter CSA and it made for a savory dish that smelled amazing...the cloves really make for a treat. I halved the garlic and used fresh turmeric, ginger, and veggie stock. I like serving it over brown rice or bulgar since i don't tend to have injera on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teffymae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was a good simple meal. Mine came out a lot like Japanese curry and was especially good when I ate it over rice. I agree that meat would be delicious in this meal but anyone should be able to add meat to this if they wanted without a problem. I rather like eating vegetarian meals most of the time anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
We all liked this. My kids - 10 and 12 - were able to help prepare it, which is always good. I added lentils, skipped the fenugreek (b/c it wasn't on hand), and used sauce instead of puree. We like things on the spice side, so I would probably add more garlic next time. I was actually wondering if raisins would be interesting to add for the last few minutes. In any case, we will make it again and try different variations. I like the idea of lime juice and will probably try that. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogoet
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made a big skillet of this last night- delicious! I look forward to having to to eat for a couple of days. I did make a couple of modifications. As others have mentioned, I upped the turmeric and significantly reduced the ginger. I also added around half a teaspoon of cayenne to give it a little kick. Where it calls for tomato puree and water, I tossed two large tomatoes and some vegetable broth into a blender. I added the cabbage separately, closer to the end, since I wanted it to retain a little more texture and flavor. Finally, I added about a cup of frozen green peas. The peas were really the main change, I just like them in this kind of dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this to try to impress the little Ethiopian girl I tutor. She did like it but said it is not Ethiopian food. I later attended a class hosted by the Ethiopian adoption support group in our area and learned to make some very good Ethiopian food. It is traditional to use a lot of garlic, onion and tomato paste. You also need a special spice that is only available from Ethiopia but a good substitute is called Spicy Salt available at some ethnic specialty shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really simple recipe with surprisingly good flavours. I followed the suggestion and doubled the spices but didn't change anything else. I was worried that it wouldn't have much flavour as the smell wasn't that strong, and before it finished cooking it was a little on the bland side. I resisted the urge to add more spices and it proved to be the right decision. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States