Ethiopian Vegetable Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
A delicious option for serving vegetarian friends. Next time I'll try adding chopped chicken; it just seems right for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent! I did not add the cabbage, but added beef cubes. I cooked it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very tasty, but not hot, so my one-year-old loved it! My husband also requested to have it again. For the veggies, I used 1 onion, 1 bowl of Trader Joe's chopped stir-fry veggies, and 2 cups diced tomatoes rather than tomato puree. I used Trader Joe's mixed bean medley rather than potatoes. I served it on top of whole wheat couscous, made with butter and veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really simple recipe with surprisingly good flavours. I followed the suggestion and doubled the spices but didn't change anything else. I was worried that it wouldn't have much flavour as the smell wasn't that strong, and before it finished cooking it was a little on the bland side. I resisted the urge to add more spices and it proved to be the right decision. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this Ethiopian-inspired dish. It happened to have everything I was trying to use from my winter CSA and it made for a savory dish that smelled amazing...the cloves really make for a treat. I halved the garlic and used fresh turmeric, ginger, and veggie stock. I like serving it over brown rice or bulgar since i don't tend to have injera on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teffymae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this is a tasty, easy to prepare dish of whole vegetables with plenty of seasonings, that goes well with rice or quinoa, and especially yummy with Injera, an Ethiopian flatbread recipe that is also very simple to prepare. I make it without the oil, toasting the seasonings dry before adding wet ingredients. This takes the calorie count down, so i can feel good about eating it whenever I want. It tastes good fresh out of the pot, and is even better the next day. This recipe will be in my top ten, for sure. One I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
A little less Clove next time and I think it would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this to try to impress the little Ethiopian girl I tutor. She did like it but said it is not Ethiopian food. I later attended a class hosted by the Ethiopian adoption support group in our area and learned to make some very good Ethiopian food. It is traditional to use a lot of garlic, onion and tomato paste. You also need a special spice that is only available from Ethiopia but a good substitute is called Spicy Salt available at some ethnic specialty shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just made it pretty much as written but used ground fenugreek instead of fenugreek seeds. After adding all vegetables I cooked it for like 15 minutes before adding the liquids, because it seemed like it was best to do this to "cook down" the vegetable bulk a bit. In fact, it was hard to fit all this into the largest pot I had available, so halving the recipe might be a good move for some kitchens. Results were pretty good, I was pleased and my husband even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmk1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really tasty and filling - my only recommendation would be to make this in a big stock pot rather than a skillet, since it makes a TON. I couldn't find fenugreek seeds so I researched online and subbed in a tsp of mustard seed and a tiny, tiny amount of maple syrup, but other than that I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States