Ethiopian Vegetable Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really simple recipe with surprisingly good flavours. I followed the suggestion and doubled the spices but didn't change anything else. I was worried that it wouldn't have much flavour as the smell wasn't that strong, and before it finished cooking it was a little on the bland side. I resisted the urge to add more spices and it proved to be the right decision. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goodlookincookin
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was tastier than I imagined it would be. My husband, who is a meat lover, actually enjoyed it. Of couse he said he thought it would be great with beef stew meat. :) I think lamb would be a good choice. We did eat this meatless, but I did sprinkle a small bit of good fresh goat cheese on top. Yum. The house smelled wonderful while cooking this. I would suggest cutting the potatoes rather small so that they get nice and soft. I cut mine in larger cubes and had to cook this an additional 45 minutes and they were still rather hard. Overall, this was good, and the hubby requests it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe was a great base for a warming vegetarian stew! I decreased the garlic by half, used about 1.5 inches of fresh garlic, and increased the tumeric and cloves. It made a GREAT sauce :) I also added some pumpkin in place of about half the potatoes and ate it with brown basmati rice. I think a squirt of lime juice at the end would've be a nice touch... if I had a lime ;) This seems to be one of those things that gets better the longer you cooked it... i cooked mine for a little over an hour. So good! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
It was REALLY garlicky but very very good. I cut back on the oil (1/4 of a cup??) and the cloves, used ground fenugreek instead of seeds, and I added maybe 2/3 of a can of chicken broth as it was getting rather dry. We ate it with paratha. I think I'll add a handful of peas next time. Thanks, alemana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent! I did not add the cabbage, but added beef cubes. I cooked it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this to try to impress the little Ethiopian girl I tutor. She did like it but said it is not Ethiopian food. I later attended a class hosted by the Ethiopian adoption support group in our area and learned to make some very good Ethiopian food. It is traditional to use a lot of garlic, onion and tomato paste. You also need a special spice that is only available from Ethiopia but a good substitute is called Spicy Salt available at some ethnic specialty shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
A little less Clove next time and I think it would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very tasty, but not hot, so my one-year-old loved it! My husband also requested to have it again. For the veggies, I used 1 onion, 1 bowl of Trader Joe's chopped stir-fry veggies, and 2 cups diced tomatoes rather than tomato puree. I used Trader Joe's mixed bean medley rather than potatoes. I served it on top of whole wheat couscous, made with butter and veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very yummy. I did not use cabbage or carrots, but used 3 potatoes, 1/2 cup lentils, and 2 chickens breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
We all liked this. My kids - 10 and 12 - were able to help prepare it, which is always good. I added lentils, skipped the fenugreek (b/c it wasn't on hand), and used sauce instead of puree. We like things on the spice side, so I would probably add more garlic next time. I was actually wondering if raisins would be interesting to add for the last few minutes. In any case, we will make it again and try different variations. I like the idea of lime juice and will probably try that. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogoet

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States