Ethiopian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I wish I could give this three and a half stars for accuracy! Both I and my sister liked it, but hubby wasn't crazy about it. Everyone agrees it could be improved by adding a little brown sugar to the soy sauce mixture, so I'll be trying this again but making the sauce into more of a glaze next time. Still, tasty and well paired with the Ethiopian Cabbage Dish on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
!! Amazing flavor. My apartment smelled fantastic all day. The boyfriend couldn't believe it. Regardless of any debate over whether or not the flavors are truly Ethiopian, this is very much worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very tasty dish! I only had boneless skinless breasts on hand, but will definitely go with the wings next time. I highly recommend keeping the onions in the dish, they were sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Make it vegetarian!!!!! I used Quorn naked chicken cutlets and just skipped the boiling part. Everything else stayed the same. It was VERY delicious. Pair it with the Ethiopian cabbage/carrot/potato dish and it is an amazing dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
very yummy - i was sceptical of the marinade since it smelled so strong, but the wings turned out great. you don't even need any dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I cooked this for picky southern parents, an Egyptian husband and a beyond picky toddler. It has been a great hit. The only difference I made was to cook the chicken in a dutch over. It came out so moist and flavorful. It may not be Ethiopian (Ethiopian food is the best) but it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Two variants -- One time I ran short on soy sauce and went with 1/3 cup soy sauce and 1/3 cup white wine; family loved it--we call it Drunken Ethiopian Chicken. Also have used it on boneless thighs, just saute the thighs with the onions and then pour the sauce over and reduce, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
not very good, i would not make again, waste of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My 9 year old son, 90 year old father-in-law and I LOVED these. You could actually taste the cinnamon and ginger. I had left out the onion because my son doesn't like them, but I used 1/2 teaspoon onion powder. Fabulous for any age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pyrites, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very testy but not Ethiopian. You should comeup with some other name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States