Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
exellent, add garlic and double the spices. cooked in cast iron pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Good recipe, but I wasn't impressed by the amount of seasoning. If I make this again, I will double the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
this is a keeper!!! added celery and lots of fresh garlic...i will make this again and again!!! d.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have cooked this about 4-5 times now and LOVE it - although I have made changes along the way to make it perfect for us. They are - + Slightly pre-cook chunks of potato in the microwave first until a little bit cooked (about 3 or 4 mins?) + Add the potatoes to the (non-stick) pan FIRST and brown a little in the oil (using less oil). Then add carrot, onion, 1 tspn tumeric, 1 tspn cumin but normal salt/pepper AND at least 2 cloves of crushed GARLIC. + I then add a finely sliced CHORIZO (I know - totally non-Ethiopian style but so yummy) + Then the cabbage, I only use 1/4 of a head - cook approx 10>15 mins or until potato soft + I stir in some pre-cooked couscous (1/3 cup couscous to 1/3 cup boiling water plus a knob of butter) The results are super YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Had all the ingredients on hand and whipped this up for dear wife for lunch. Was looking for something to do with cabbage and this was the bill. Seldom do we have a meatless meal it seems and I warned the missus that we would be doing vegan. We both enjoyed this dish and are glad to have a new way to fix cabbage. Served it with butter beans... a good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow, this recipe is stunning. Like others, I didn't have turmeric on hand and wanted to try it out, so I subbed red wine vinegar like suggested in these comments, doubled the cumin and added about four cloves of minced garlic. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but it is beautiful. I made a huge pot planning to have leftovers, but I can't stop eating it so I'm worried I'll polish off the whole thing! Just so tasty and comforting without being too heavy, and the flavours of all the veggies run together nicely. Great recipe, and very easy to make while puttering around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a really yummy way to eat cabbage. I don't add as much oil, and it still tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topangamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was wonderful! I made as written, the best test I think. I might experiment with seasoning next time. I used the leftovers today for lunch by adding chicken broth to make a soup and added some curry power, it was a hit again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Have made this a number of times now and the only thing I do differently is to increase the amount of turmeric. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Yummy, and a good thing to do with extra cabbage, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States