Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
It was great! Used a little butter instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Truly authentic! Just like I remember it back in Ethiopia! I did how just altered it a bit by adding minced garlic and more turmeric. Otherwise delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this today only I added garlic powder, a spoonful of butter, and i didnt have cumin or tumeric so I used a few sprinkles of jamaican curry powder. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Husband and I love this recipe, but would NEVER use that much oil, EVER. Yuck. I use about two tablespoons, and, then, when needed, I add chicken broth. When the chicken broth becomes absorbed I add more, etc. I just keep checking on it. I've made it with the potatoes and without the potatoes, and both is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Turned out very well! We've been trying more plant-based meals and this is both savory and filling! Used about 2 tbsp oil and some water instead of 1/2 cup of oil, also added more cumin and tumeric. Someone suggested Ginger which I'll have to try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SakiFiz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this. Made for a tasty dinner. I did follow the recommendations and double the cumin and turmeric. I also did half olive oil and half butter just out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is DELICIOUS! I was afraid of what my husband might think, but he loved it too. I would definitely reduce the oil. I put in more spice too. Be careful of the tumeric, everything it touches turnes yellow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Really tasty. Made it with baby carrots I had on hand. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
'Had to use up potatoes & always looking for good cabbage dishes so I went & bought the $5 jar of tumeric in hopes I'd like this. I followed suggestions doubling pepper & tumeric. The directions seemed off so I did my thing: Sauteed onion in 1/4c olive oil about 5 minutes, then stirred in spices. Then stirred in potatoes. Then cabbage. Cooked that ten minutes, semi-covered. Added the carrots, fifteen more, semi-covered. Good directions, but the dish wasn't all that impressive. 'Guess I'm not a big tumeric fan. 'Not that it was bad, just not too flavorful. We'll have some as is & the rest in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a hearty and satisfying dish that surpassed my expectations! My husband adored it and has already asked for it again. I did make some changes. First of all, I used a pot and not a skillet. I omitted the salt and most of the oil (used a water/oil saute method). As for spices, I added 1 teaspoon of "rasel hanout", a Moroccan spice blend that I found on Amazon (sorry, I did not have an Ethiopian spice blend on hand), and I would definitely use it again. I also added more cumin and pepper to taste. As for the main ingredients, I used uncut baby carrots instead of sliced. (Lazy!) Next time I will use regular carrots, sliced, and I will start by cooking the potatoes with the onions first to give them a 15-20 minute head start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States