Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
OMG! So tasty! Next time I'll halve the pepper and double the turmeric though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great recipe! My new favorite way to cook cabbage! Used prepackaged coleslaw and added a little more carrots. Double the seasonings. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Other than cutting the olive oil by half (as I read in the other reviews) I stuck by the recipe. Absolutely Fantastic! We loved it and the left overs went with the Mr. to work where he shared it with a few. Rave reviews from the guys there as well. Definitely going in my rotation. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good cabbage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
What more can I say, I loved this dish! It's like the veggies became candy ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
used less oil. Added fresh garlic and ginger. Did not peel potatoes increase turmeric to 1/4 teas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe but with all the suggestions on doubling spices and cutting oil. I added a dash of cayenne for a little spice. Instead of sliced onions I added two cups of chopped onions. The potatoes I had were very BIG so I used three of them. I cooked this in a 16" electric skillet. I have some very large pans but I doubt that all the ingredients would fit. I cooked the onions and carrots on high for 5 minutes and added the cabbage with all the spices and cooked on high until they were carmelized. I reduced the heat to medium and added the potatoes. I had doubts that the potatoes would cook. I set a timer and stirred everything every 5 minutes just to be on the safe side. After 25 minutes the taters were perfect and the dish was done. 5 minutes later it was GONE! My family LOVED it. I LOVED it. It has a sweet , exotic spicy, veggie, pototoee, taste. It's not soggy and mushy. This is a keeper. ILIKEFOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was crazy delicious! I did double the spices and reduce OO as suggested by other reviewers. We are in love with this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I think the amount of oil needed is going to depend on the size of your potatoes cabbage and onions. There is no specification in the recipe and the size of the veggies can make a huge difference. It as however, delicious! I used the whole 1/2 cup and it was not too greasy. I normally make fried cabbage with green bell peppers and onions and we love it but this was a lovely change and a really hardy vegan meal with the potatoes! So you may need to increase or decrease based on the size of your vegetables. Definitely double the spices. I used more than a tsp of salt but don't know how much more. Enjoy! I also added my potatoes with the carrots and onions at the start. Worked great. Also, my carrots were about 1/2 inch not thinly sliced didn't want mush and they would have been for sure. About 35 total minutes if cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made for a crowd. Sauteed onions and carrots on top of stove, finished in the oven. Doubled spices as recommended. Cooked potatoes separately and added last few minutes to absorb flavor. Cooking in oven allowed me to use less oil. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States