Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Added garlic to oil. Would cut down oil a little. Did not peel potatoes. Really tasty, great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe but with all the suggestions on doubling spices and cutting oil. I added a dash of cayenne for a little spice. Instead of sliced onions I added two cups of chopped onions. The potatoes I had were very BIG so I used three of them. I cooked this in a 16" electric skillet. I have some very large pans but I doubt that all the ingredients would fit. I cooked the onions and carrots on high for 5 minutes and added the cabbage with all the spices and cooked on high until they were carmelized. I reduced the heat to medium and added the potatoes. I had doubts that the potatoes would cook. I set a timer and stirred everything every 5 minutes just to be on the safe side. After 25 minutes the taters were perfect and the dish was done. 5 minutes later it was GONE! My family LOVED it. I LOVED it. It has a sweet , exotic spicy, veggie, pototoee, taste. It's not soggy and mushy. This is a keeper. ILIKEFOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was crazy delicious! I did double the spices and reduce OO as suggested by other reviewers. We are in love with this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I think the amount of oil needed is going to depend on the size of your potatoes cabbage and onions. There is no specification in the recipe and the size of the veggies can make a huge difference. It as however, delicious! I used the whole 1/2 cup and it was not too greasy. I normally make fried cabbage with green bell peppers and onions and we love it but this was a lovely change and a really hardy vegan meal with the potatoes! So you may need to increase or decrease based on the size of your vegetables. Definitely double the spices. I used more than a tsp of salt but don't know how much more. Enjoy! I also added my potatoes with the carrots and onions at the start. Worked great. Also, my carrots were about 1/2 inch not thinly sliced didn't want mush and they would have been for sure. About 35 total minutes if cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made for a crowd. Sauteed onions and carrots on top of stove, finished in the oven. Doubled spices as recommended. Cooked potatoes separately and added last few minutes to absorb flavor. Cooking in oven allowed me to use less oil. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Ok, so when I first saw this recipe, I was a little apprehensive; however, oh. my. gosh. My family (even my 4 year old!) LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this! I doubled the spices and it was magnificent. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I love this one no meat easy to digest my goto for comfort food. i tweak everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Womack
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Another great way to eat cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I heeded the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices and reduced the oil. Since we had a bumper crop of red cabbage that is what I used, plus yellow, orange and red carrots. It was not only delicious but beautiful! Served it with cheesy polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I really enjoyed it, but my kids weren't into it as much as I was. I could easily make this my entire meal. I enjoyed it, but would caution those with picky kiddos to try something less exotic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States