Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love this recipe! I don't cook it with other Ethiopian dishes, I just use it as a side dish with whatever I'm making. I only use 3 potatoes and usually a whole head of cabbage. I cut the oil and pepper in half (due to little ones) and I usually add some cumin seed and a bit more turmeric. Easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I cooked this while my wife and I was fasting and it was delicious, I also sent a picture to my family and everyone wanted the recipe. I also brought some to my moms office for her lunch and everyone was commenting on the smell and look. And my mom loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Four stars as is. Five stars with a) double the spices b) additional cabbage (I used 3/4 of a head) c) addition of garlic and ginger per another reviewer's suggestion. Enjoyable for any meal; want to add chickpeas or sausage and turn into a filling for breakfast burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by kalmonte
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Absolutely loved this! I do not eat chicken or beef so I'm constantly looking for non meat meals. Meals that are actually good..and this one definitely is! I did add smoked paprika and a little white wine to steam the potatos and cabbage a little faster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Tasty, nutritious and if you already have the spices cheap cheap cheap! I did have to add a little water to the pot because the lid was too loose to trap steam. This is going to be a winter standard in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used red cabbage, baby red potatoes & rainbow carrots as that's what I had on hand. Perhaps I just didn't have the heat high enough, but I had to add 20 minutes to the cook time in order to get the potatoes cooked through. Very tasty once it was done, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was my first time making it. I started off following the recipe but definitely had to add water to keep it from burning or overcooking. I took some of the others' advice and added fresh garlic and ginger and that helped for it to not be so bland. I also sliced the potatoes about 1/4" thick (after cutting the potatoes in half lengthwise) because it would have had to cook too long in 1" cubes. The long slices seem to go better with the style of the dish. I would try making this dish again but with a lot of tweaking... Otherwise it is pretty bland and can easily become overcooked. It's best eaten with homemade injera bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recepie turned out delicious with few modifications ..I added cumin seeds along with mustard seeds in the beginning and then added onions followed by cabbage and other veggies.. In the end I added powdered coconut and roasted walnuts .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I added the ginger and garlic as suggested in reviews. And I left out the onion and potato, because I didn't have those ingredients. The flavours were very nice indeed. I baked the recipe in the oven whilst I cooked a large loaf of bread. I made the Ethiopian Cabbage in the oven in two separate containers: one with vegetarian sausages, and the other half with basa (white fish) wrapped in foil on top, for a separate meal. Both served with the wholewheat cobbler bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Heydon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jai SG
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States