Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is pretty close to the Ethiopian veggies at the restaurants I've eaten at. Made a version once that called for a ton of nutmeg. Caution... run away from versions that call for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
So tasty! I used a little too much cabbage and tripled the spices, also halved the oil and added turkey burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I make many things for my family and most of the time they have some type of change I should make to better the recipe. However, this recipe made the cut! They agreed no changes were needed :-) THANK YOU! it was nice to finally hear all positive and nothing that needed to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I loved this dish. I reduced the oil to 1/4 c and doubled the tumeric. The only thing I would change for next time is either putting in less potatoes or more cabbage. THe potatoes kind of took over the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I try to fix something my wife doesn't on the evenings I fix dinner & this fit the bill. As others recommended, I used 1/2 the oil & doubled the spices & it was GREAT! I chopped the cabbage instead of shredding it & put in the carrots & potatoes as per the instructions and they were perfect. Tender, but not mushy at all. The only thing I changed was I left the skin on the potatoes. This was the main dish with a nice fruit & yogurt salad to "cleanse the palate'" during the meal. A SAVER for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good. Very tasty. Love a new way of cooking familiar vegetables. Seems like it could be great with scrambled eggs and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made with couscous delicious, double spices, half oil, add garlic and ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good. Reduced the oil by half and doubled the seasoning except for the salt as suggested by reviewers. Will make again with even less oil. Served as a side for Peri Peri African Chicken also on this site. Update, I made this again but put an Indian spin on it. I added fresh ginger, garlic, and crushed red pepper. This time I was out of carrots but I added green bell pepper and fresh tomatoes for color. I added fresh cilantro for garnish and served with garam masala rubbed venison steaks. Note to self: leave cabbage in big chunks and add further into cooking process, maybe try with ground beef for 1 pot meal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Simple and tasty! I think you can get away with using less oil, though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I cut the olive oil as suggested by other reviewers and skipped the turmeric because I didn't have any on hand. This is a nice cabbage recipe. My 15 y/o even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States