Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I am a huge lover of Ethiopian dishes! What is missing from this recipe is 2 teaspoons minced garlic and 1/2 tsp minced ginger ;-) I liked that you added cumin for a taste twist but it's really not necessary. The turmeric definitely needs to be doubled, or more to taste. Oh, and definitely reduce the oil to 1/4 cup. Oh, one more thing ... It's much easier and you'll have more control if you cook this in a large pot rather than a skillet ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Ethiopian is probably my favorite kind of food, but I'd never tried making any real dishes (I live in the DC area where Ethio restaurants are all over). The restaurants call this dish tikil gomen. I have to say this tasted almost exactly like the tikil gomen I've had before--this is probably partially because I doubled the spices (as recommended) and also used niter kibbeh, Ethiopian spiced clarified butter, instead of olive oil. (There are many various recipes for niter kibbeh online--it's really flavorful and keeps for months!) I was just looking for something to make with cabbage and potatoes, but I'm glad I found this because it inspired me to make an Ethiopian dinner with Ethiopian lentils (mesir wat). This dish turned out much better than the lentils! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a great new flavor for cabbage. YES! Double the spices! I did not have tumeric so to get that sweet spicy flavor, I used balsamic vinegar. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitchJGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Cut the olive oil in half (1/4 cup) and doubled the spices (but not the salt). Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have three daughters from Ethiopia, and this is the first recipe they said Ive got right! It is perfect! Very close to what you would get in an authenic ET restaurant! We make this in double batches once or twice a week! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good! My husband's first words when finished with dinner was - you can make this again! Followed advice of others and doubled the spices. I used my Vidalia Chop Wizard to dice the onions, carrots and potatoes so prep time was very quick. As we are vegetarians, next time will add garbanzo beans for a protein. Ate this with Injera Bread - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I sooo looked forward to making this all week long! I cook in iron so maybe that had something to do with it. At first, felt like it was too soft but after eating it and savoring the oil with the cabbage, I liked it. As stated in previous review, not alot of taste so I added more. Also, I had a wee problem with temp. as I have an electric stove. I absolutely love all ingredients in this so I'll try, try again! :0)I like my potatoes crispy on the outside and soft on the inside so next time I'll do these seperate and will add at the end. I enjoyed making it and seeing the wonderful color come to light from the Tumeric. I will keep trying! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I absolutely LOVE this! It's one of those super-comfort dishes that will become a family staple, I'm sure. Because I had some, I added a few slices (diced) of Morningstar Smart "Bacon". We'll have the leftovers with scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
5 stars from me great taste, i doubled all spices except the salt.a keeper,use as main or side dish great,i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I was looking for an original way to cook cabbage and found this recipe. We thought it was very good, especially when reheated the next day. Definitely double the spices for more taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States