Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I think the amount of oil needed is going to depend on the size of your potatoes cabbage and onions. There is no specification in the recipe and the size of the veggies can make a huge difference. It as however, delicious! I used the whole 1/2 cup and it was not too greasy. I normally make fried cabbage with green bell peppers and onions and we love it but this was a lovely change and a really hardy vegan meal with the potatoes! So you may need to increase or decrease based on the size of your vegetables. Definitely double the spices. I used more than a tsp of salt but don't know how much more. Enjoy! I also added my potatoes with the carrots and onions at the start. Worked great. Also, my carrots were about 1/2 inch not thinly sliced didn't want mush and they would have been for sure. About 35 total minutes if cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made for a crowd. Sauteed onions and carrots on top of stove, finished in the oven. Doubled spices as recommended. Cooked potatoes separately and added last few minutes to absorb flavor. Cooking in oven allowed me to use less oil. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Ok, so when I first saw this recipe, I was a little apprehensive; however, oh. my. gosh. My family (even my 4 year old!) LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this! I doubled the spices and it was magnificent. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I love this one no meat easy to digest my goto for comfort food. i tweak everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Womack
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Another great way to eat cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I heeded the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices and reduced the oil. Since we had a bumper crop of red cabbage that is what I used, plus yellow, orange and red carrots. It was not only delicious but beautiful! Served it with cheesy polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I really enjoyed it, but my kids weren't into it as much as I was. I could easily make this my entire meal. I enjoyed it, but would caution those with picky kiddos to try something less exotic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I cooked it in a wok, added garlic & ground turkey, and doubled all the spices but the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I was amazed at how delicious this was for something so simple. The reason I am giving it four stars and not five is because the man of the house wasn't completely satisfied, he said "It needs meat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I brought this dish to a pot luck, and I was the only person who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States