Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have three daughters from Ethiopia, and this is the first recipe they said Ive got right! It is perfect! Very close to what you would get in an authenic ET restaurant! We make this in double batches once or twice a week! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
5 stars from me great taste, i doubled all spices except the salt.a keeper,use as main or side dish great,i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was one of very few recipes that require potatoes and not "can of something" soup and cheese. I accidentally doubled the spices except salt. So, I can't speak to it being bland. Doubling seemed to work for us. I guess it could be considered high in oil. It was fine for us, but if that's a concern I would reduce the oil by no less than half and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Ethiopian is probably my favorite kind of food, but I'd never tried making any real dishes (I live in the DC area where Ethio restaurants are all over). The restaurants call this dish tikil gomen. I have to say this tasted almost exactly like the tikil gomen I've had before--this is probably partially because I doubled the spices (as recommended) and also used niter kibbeh, Ethiopian spiced clarified butter, instead of olive oil. (There are many various recipes for niter kibbeh online--it's really flavorful and keeps for months!) I was just looking for something to make with cabbage and potatoes, but I'm glad I found this because it inspired me to make an Ethiopian dinner with Ethiopian lentils (mesir wat). This dish turned out much better than the lentils! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Used a hefty dose of spices - the we like it around here - and it was glorious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Amazing. It reminds me a lot of Indian food, which I also love. I used roughly fist-sized potatoes, heaped the spices, and used only 1/4 cup of olive oil. Tried it and loved it; for dinner, I cooked and added boneless/skinless chicken breasts cut into strips. This was the first time I've ventured into Ethiopian cooking; I'd love to find out the actual name of the dish. I'll definitely be passing this one on to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Wow, we totally loved this! I did make some changes, but I don't think they actually improved the dish or made it worse. It just made it work for us. I first partially cooked the potatoes separate from the cabbage using half the oil, and when they were done, started the carrots & onions. I doubled the cumin because I LOVE cumin. The only other difference was that I chopped a leftover cooked chicken breast and added it with the cabbage. I would have preferred it without the meat (because I love vegan recipes and prefer to make things authentically), but my boyfriend needs the protein. He adored it and ate two servings, which he NEVER does unless he totally loves something. Awesome! I loved that it seemed just a little familiar (because I love Indian and middle eastern cooking), but still tasted different from everything I've ever tried before. We will SO be having this regularly, at the BF's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My family loved this recipe. The kid's didn't like the way it looked but loved the way it tasted. There were very little leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Soo good, it had a really warm comforting effect with a bit of an ethnic feel. I did double the spices and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I love this recipe!!! I was trying to become a vegertarian earlier this year and I came across this dish and I was hooked! I like to kick up the spices just a bit, but that's just my preference. This is now my favorite way to cook cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States