Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jade
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This dish was very good. I used the spices that were suggested but measured them into the dish at all of the same quantity. While the dish was easy to make, I found it to lack a little in flavour so I will experiment next time in adding some Ethiopian inspired spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
5 stars from me great taste, i doubled all spices except the salt.a keeper,use as main or side dish great,i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a great new flavor for cabbage. YES! Double the spices! I did not have tumeric so to get that sweet spicy flavor, I used balsamic vinegar. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitchJGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Used a hefty dose of spices - the we like it around here - and it was glorious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Amazing. It reminds me a lot of Indian food, which I also love. I used roughly fist-sized potatoes, heaped the spices, and used only 1/4 cup of olive oil. Tried it and loved it; for dinner, I cooked and added boneless/skinless chicken breasts cut into strips. This was the first time I've ventured into Ethiopian cooking; I'd love to find out the actual name of the dish. I'll definitely be passing this one on to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I sooo looked forward to making this all week long! I cook in iron so maybe that had something to do with it. At first, felt like it was too soft but after eating it and savoring the oil with the cabbage, I liked it. As stated in previous review, not alot of taste so I added more. Also, I had a wee problem with temp. as I have an electric stove. I absolutely love all ingredients in this so I'll try, try again! :0)I like my potatoes crispy on the outside and soft on the inside so next time I'll do these seperate and will add at the end. I enjoyed making it and seeing the wonderful color come to light from the Tumeric. I will keep trying! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I thought this was delicious, but there was a little too much oil for me. I will try it again with a little less oil or something. Otherwise, very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I'm sure it was authentic, just bland for us. I wish I had read the reviews that said to double the spices. I ended up smothering it in cheese and topping with sour cream...not so much Ethiopian at that point though but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have three daughters from Ethiopia, and this is the first recipe they said Ive got right! It is perfect! Very close to what you would get in an authenic ET restaurant! We make this in double batches once or twice a week! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was one of very few recipes that require potatoes and not "can of something" soup and cheese. I accidentally doubled the spices except salt. So, I can't speak to it being bland. Doubling seemed to work for us. I guess it could be considered high in oil. It was fine for us, but if that's a concern I would reduce the oil by no less than half and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States