Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karmacook
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is my new favorite thing! We gobbled it up. I added half the oil, twice the spices. Used hing as well. I thinly sliced the potatoes instead of cubing them and I had to add some water to keep it from burning/sticking. I paired it with mesir wat (red lentils), some quinoa, and a yogurt sauce with cucumber, cilantro, mint, cumin, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I followed the directions , aside from halving the oil, adding 2 teaspoons minced garlic, and doubling the spices. The flavor was great! My only "complaint" is that I felt the potatoes were too distracting. I will decrease the quantity next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
We loved it! Recently we adopted a vegatarian lifestyle and this recipe cooks up like a stew, but without meat. It's hearty, flavorful and satisfying. Others recommended more spice; but I found the mix to be perfect and more would have been too spicy, my hubby agreed. I did add an extra potato and last minute I added a can of green beans which added a nice color and flavor. I thank you I will making this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was much more delicious than I hoped that it would be, I have never heard of Ethiopian cuisine, as it is not avalible in my country. I used half a cabbage in case it was a bad recipe, but I am going to use the other half like this as well. I added some garlic, ginger, and cinnamon. It was not hot, so next time I am going to add some red pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have any carrots so I left them out. I did add about a 1/2 cup of water to get the potatoes cooked. I used red cabbage so it was really pretty too! Will definitely have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was so yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Not really that good in my opinion. I would have given this 2 stars but I made it a second time and used less cabbage which then bumped it up to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I add a can of beans for protein when I make this dish. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Since it was just for two, I halved the cabbage, used only 3 potatoes, doubled the spices, added a teaspoon of cumin seed (whole). I cooked it in a dutch oven (a Calphalon non-stick "stock pot" actually. It was outstanding! So good, in fact, that we've put it into "the book" - our private collection of "do again - and again" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States