Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I thought the spice combo for the recipe was right on - loved the flavor! But I prefer to make the potatoes crispy in the oven first and then just stir them in with the cabbage before serving so that there is a variety in the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Yummmm! doubled tumeric and cumin and added extra pepper as well. Used yellow sweet potatoes and added a drizzle of balsamic vinegar per another chef's recommendation. Amazing and so cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is really yummy. I doubled the spices like everyone else. I agree with prior reviewer I think the potatoes should be added first. I reserved some cabbage to add at the end and I think that reall helped. I will make this again, everyone but my 2 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was so, so easy and so, so tasty! I originally intended to make it ahead of time and pair it with the Ethiopian Chicken recipe on allrecipes, but the family ate it all before I could and begged me to make another batch for the very next night. The only change I made was doubling the spices, but I'm definitely going to follow the recommendations of other reviewers and toss some garlic and ginger in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
exellent, add garlic and double the spices. cooked in cast iron pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Good recipe, but I wasn't impressed by the amount of seasoning. If I make this again, I will double the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
this is a keeper!!! added celery and lots of fresh garlic...i will make this again and again!!! d.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have cooked this about 4-5 times now and LOVE it - although I have made changes along the way to make it perfect for us. They are - + Slightly pre-cook chunks of potato in the microwave first until a little bit cooked (about 3 or 4 mins?) + Add the potatoes to the (non-stick) pan FIRST and brown a little in the oil (using less oil). Then add carrot, onion, 1 tspn tumeric, 1 tspn cumin but normal salt/pepper AND at least 2 cloves of crushed GARLIC. + I then add a finely sliced CHORIZO (I know - totally non-Ethiopian style but so yummy) + Then the cabbage, I only use 1/4 of a head - cook approx 10>15 mins or until potato soft + I stir in some pre-cooked couscous (1/3 cup couscous to 1/3 cup boiling water plus a knob of butter) The results are super YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Had all the ingredients on hand and whipped this up for dear wife for lunch. Was looking for something to do with cabbage and this was the bill. Seldom do we have a meatless meal it seems and I warned the missus that we would be doing vegan. We both enjoyed this dish and are glad to have a new way to fix cabbage. Served it with butter beans... a good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow, this recipe is stunning. Like others, I didn't have turmeric on hand and wanted to try it out, so I subbed red wine vinegar like suggested in these comments, doubled the cumin and added about four cloves of minced garlic. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but it is beautiful. I made a huge pot planning to have leftovers, but I can't stop eating it so I'm worried I'll polish off the whole thing! Just so tasty and comforting without being too heavy, and the flavours of all the veggies run together nicely. Great recipe, and very easy to make while puttering around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States