Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a hearty and satisfying dish that surpassed my expectations! My husband adored it and has already asked for it again. I did make some changes. First of all, I used a pot and not a skillet. I omitted the salt and most of the oil (used a water/oil saute method). As for spices, I added 1 teaspoon of "rasel hanout", a Moroccan spice blend that I found on Amazon (sorry, I did not have an Ethiopian spice blend on hand), and I would definitely use it again. I also added more cumin and pepper to taste. As for the main ingredients, I used uncut baby carrots instead of sliced. (Lazy!) Next time I will use regular carrots, sliced, and I will start by cooking the potatoes with the onions first to give them a 15-20 minute head start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great Recipe! Next time Ii would only use 1/2 the amount of spices. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
We love it every time we make it. Very flexible -- could be served with meat or tofu or just as is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a delicious dish! I've made it several times for my family and they all love it. The flavor is light yet very good. I reduced the amount of potatoes and added a bit more cabbage and it's a hit! This will certainly become a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was a pretty good staple dinner recipe, given that I tend to have most of the ingredients on hand. I agree with the other reviewers to double the spices (not the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was simply DELICIOUS! I put more of the spices, like everyone else, and it was heavenly. My whole family loved it and said I could be the house cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Awesome! I love cooked cabbage but never had any recipes to make with it. I think I'll use a whole head next time because the half really cooks up. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was really good. There are already plenty of reviews, I just wanted to add another vote. Halved the oil like was recommended and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner today, I'm in love.... I didn't double the spices with this batch but I will try that the next time I make it. It's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States