Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was surprisingly good. I left out the potatoes, and next time will try it with beans, maybe chick peas. I cut the oil also and it was fine, would've been too oily with the whole amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Use half the oil than it says, maybe even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Made this dish for dinner last night, and it was wonderful! It's really easier than the original recipe states. First, I only used enough olive oil (2 tbsp.) to sautee the onion and carrots until soft. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic at this point and doubled the spices. After that I just dumped in the potatoes and cabbage, drizzled a little olive oil over all, covered and cooked for 30 minutes. I used my Dutch oven instead of a skillet because of the volume. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Double spice and it was ooh so yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love this recipe! I don't cook it with other Ethiopian dishes, I just use it as a side dish with whatever I'm making. I only use 3 potatoes and usually a whole head of cabbage. I cut the oil and pepper in half (due to little ones) and I usually add some cumin seed and a bit more turmeric. Easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I cooked this while my wife and I was fasting and it was delicious, I also sent a picture to my family and everyone wanted the recipe. I also brought some to my moms office for her lunch and everyone was commenting on the smell and look. And my mom loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Four stars as is. Five stars with a) double the spices b) additional cabbage (I used 3/4 of a head) c) addition of garlic and ginger per another reviewer's suggestion. Enjoyable for any meal; want to add chickpeas or sausage and turn into a filling for breakfast burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Photo by kalmonte
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Absolutely loved this! I do not eat chicken or beef so I'm constantly looking for non meat meals. Meals that are actually good..and this one definitely is! I did add smoked paprika and a little white wine to steam the potatos and cabbage a little faster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Tasty, nutritious and if you already have the spices cheap cheap cheap! I did have to add a little water to the pot because the lid was too loose to trap steam. This is going to be a winter standard in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used red cabbage, baby red potatoes & rainbow carrots as that's what I had on hand. Perhaps I just didn't have the heat high enough, but I had to add 20 minutes to the cook time in order to get the potatoes cooked through. Very tasty once it was done, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States