Ethiopian Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was much more delicious than I hoped that it would be, I have never heard of Ethiopian cuisine, as it is not avalible in my country. I used half a cabbage in case it was a bad recipe, but I am going to use the other half like this as well. I added some garlic, ginger, and cinnamon. It was not hot, so next time I am going to add some red pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have any carrots so I left them out. I did add about a 1/2 cup of water to get the potatoes cooked. I used red cabbage so it was really pretty too! Will definitely have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was so yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Not really that good in my opinion. I would have given this 2 stars but I made it a second time and used less cabbage which then bumped it up to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I add a can of beans for protein when I make this dish. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Since it was just for two, I halved the cabbage, used only 3 potatoes, doubled the spices, added a teaspoon of cumin seed (whole). I cooked it in a dutch oven (a Calphalon non-stick "stock pot" actually. It was outstanding! So good, in fact, that we've put it into "the book" - our private collection of "do again - and again" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
very good. we enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My husband thought this was amazing. I think it would have been for me with about twice the spice. Next time, I'll double the turmeric, cumin and pepper (and possibly throw in a little garlic?) Also, this is a lot to fit in a skillet. I used a big pot instead and that worked just fine. It's definitely a recipe worth trying. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I loved it! But yes, definitely double the spices. Thanks for a great and authentic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I followed the suggestions from the other reviewers and increased the amount of turmeric and reduced the amount of cumin. I also did what one reviewer suggested and added about 1/2 tsp of ginger. I reduced the amount of oil used to about 1/8 C and cooked this in a large pot. Finally, I substituted purple potatoes for regular potatoes. This produced a refreshing dish that was slightly sweet and perfect for a hot summer day. Needless to say, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States