Essene Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I make Essene bread, but my method is a bit different than this recipe. I like to use quart jars for the sprouting. I put 1 cup of wheat berries in each quart jar (I do about 10 jars). Fill jars with cool water, put in a place out of the sunlight and completely cover with a dark, damp towel. Let sit overnight. The next morning, I use a colander with a flat bottom, place it over a jar and tip it over the sink to drain it. Rinse and drain well, but gently. Cover completely with damp towel. Rinse and drain 3 X a day (gently so you don't break the sprouts). Keep towel damp. Don't let the sprouts see light at all. Quart jars will be full when sprouts are ready. Grind or process (in processor, sprouts will begin to form a ball, and don't overfill processor), leave plain, or add nuts, dried fruit, etc. Shape into loaves or spread out on cookie sheet. Bake @ 250 for about 4 hours. Loaves will be crusty on outside, moist on inside. Loaves will spring back when pressed with finger. If sprouts turn green they taste "grassy" and lose their sweetness. Exposure to light will make them green and you don't want that. Always keep covered with a damp, dark towel. If you spread onto a cookie sheet, cut into squares. I like to use the non-stick cookie sheet covers instead of corn meal, etc. Bread is best when aged about a day. Store in fridge, or freeze what you don't use right away. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I'm in the process of sprouting my berries, but I found a different recipe that bake at 160-250 degrees for 3-4 hours, if anyone had trouble with cooking time, and suggests oiling the pan. figured I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Those who said it tasted like grass let their berries sprout to long. Just let them barely sprout a tiny bit. More than that and you get grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
absolutly wonderful. My signifancant other is on a special caveman diet and this is the only kind of bread he can eat. I added a little honey to the bread,about 1/4 cup and it came out tasting like a sweet cake. Much better and much cheaper that comercial varites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
It was fun making the sprouts with the kids. It was fun grinding the sprouts by hand with the kids. It was fun entering the baked results in the science fair with the kids. It had the flavor of a huge, wet, whole grain bran cereal conglomerate and the appearance of a lage horse pie. We ate it with brown sugar and milk for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This bread did not work for me. It seemed to lack flavor. I think I have had this with shredded carrots, raisins and nuts added, which I think would help the taste. I tried this twice without good results. Maybe it is my tecnique.???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
what did i do wrong?? i spent days getting this bread ready but when i baked it (for the time and temperature specified) it got all hard and burnt on the bottom.. like burnt sugar.. too hot maybe? i was really looking forward to trying my hard work :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I followed the directions given and found the sprouting and grinding easy. I baked the two loaves for 5 hours on low heat with covers over each loaf. They were almost too moist. The taste was very grassy. I have had other sprouted breads which did not have this "grass" flavor. I am not sure what went wrong. This recipe was so easy to make that I would like to try it again, if anyone can suggest what needs to be done to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
I have been looking for a sprouted bread recipe ever since leaving the USA, where I could buy it in the grocery. Thanks so much for submitting this nutritious recipe! I knew going in that it would take several days to make, so the time did not bother me, and we have a heavy duty grinding machine, so that was not a problem either. I must say, I eat sprouted bread for the super nutritional value, but this bread tastes great! So sweet, chewy and crispy all at once. I am delighted and it will become a staple in our house... Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States