Essence of Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just made this bread. It was easy, although my bread didn't rise all the way it came out pretty good an will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was a really good basic bread recipe. I was making the Paul Bunyan Burgers from this site and this bread stood up really well to the burger. Did not fall apart. Very nice. I halved the recipe and made 6 large buns out of it. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
The recipe was ALMOST all it promised. It was easy to make, yeasty, coarse-textured, but only slightly crusty, and a bit dense. Apparently, this is just not the recipe I was looking for. Although I added the salt, it must have needed more. Before today, I had never before sprinkled salt on bread, to make it taste good! I added 1/2 cup flour, because I wasn't sure the dough was supposed to be so very sticky. I thought maybe I should really add more, but didn't since this was the first time I've tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Nice and easy - I'll use this all the time for everyday bread. If it is too yeasty for your taste, try proofing the yeast with a small amount of the water and adding a little bit of honey. The problem (if it was sticky) was probably not the yeast but the moisture content. Just add a bit of flour in and it'll come together just fine. Obviously using bread flour is important since AP really won't work here. A little butter or egg wash over the top might help the appearance a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Too yeasty, when it comes together it is very sticky and cannot be kneaded properly - the Kitchenaid could not form it into a ball, odd directions. Too simple - needs more directions to clarify process and apperance of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I had a birthday dinner for my cousin this past Sunday. All 4 of my guest and myself included really liked everything about this recipe. I gave everyone a small loaf to take home with them. It was simple and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This bread was very tasty with a nice crust. It made delicious toast! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This bread is chewy and flavorful. I like to shape it into a dozen mini loaves and bake them on a cookie sheet. These make excellent rolls for pasta dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Easy - no kneading! quick, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
pretty good basic bread, easy and tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States