Essanaye's Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Lou
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Love this sauce, bold and flavorful and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Sauce was good but we found it too oily. We cut the thyme back because we aren't really fond of it. Overall good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was the best pizza sauce I've made. I used fresh thyme, and I'm cooking up my second batch right now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of all the seasoning in this sauce. I'd probably either 1/2 or 1/4 the added spices. I personally like my pizza sauce on the mellow side so the tomato shines, but I figured I'd give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I quadrupled this recipe and then froze it in 1/2 cup portions in small bags. Perfect, I now have sauce in my freezer that I can pull and make a quick pizza or use it for an appetizer dip (thaw the bad in very warm water). Best one I have tried...not bothering with any others. I couldn't help myself, I had to saute the garlic and peppers in the oil for 2 minutes before I added the rest of the ingredients. Maybe next I will try the fennel seed like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this sauce and used it with in an hour. It was great! Half is in the fridge so I'm looking forward to it melding. The slightest touch of fennel would be awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly Kate Davin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made pizza for our church youth group for super bowl party. This sauce was really good. The only thing I changed was to add 2 teaspoons dried minced onion. Two important things. Make sure you allow the sauce to set overnight and don't use too much, about 3/4 cup for a 12 inch pizza is enough. When 14 year old boys say thanks for the awesome pizza you know you have a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cornelia_sltz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yummy sauce.The combination of the condiments are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I was looking for a good pizza sauce recipe & tried this one along with 2 others... The first two I tried tasted pretty good, but this one did not until the next day... It blew the other recipes out of the water!! It's now THE recipe I use. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Mmmm delicious! Tomatoey, full of herby goodness. This had just a little heat with the pepper but it wasn't too spicy. This was a rich sauce and is great for a plain pasta when you want a simple spaghetti dish or breadstick sauce. It is very rich in flavor though so it can easily take over as a dominant flavor though so it won't just go with everything. Great though overall. I simmered this on the stovetop for about an hour and served it with toasted ravioli as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States