Essanaye's Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was the best pizza sauce I've made. I used fresh thyme, and I'm cooking up my second batch right now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of all the seasoning in this sauce. I'd probably either 1/2 or 1/4 the added spices. I personally like my pizza sauce on the mellow side so the tomato shines, but I figured I'd give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I quadrupled this recipe and then froze it in 1/2 cup portions in small bags. Perfect, I now have sauce in my freezer that I can pull and make a quick pizza or use it for an appetizer dip (thaw the bad in very warm water). Best one I have tried...not bothering with any others. I couldn't help myself, I had to saute the garlic and peppers in the oil for 2 minutes before I added the rest of the ingredients. Maybe next I will try the fennel seed like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this sauce and used it with in an hour. It was great! Half is in the fridge so I'm looking forward to it melding. The slightest touch of fennel would be awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made pizza for our church youth group for super bowl party. This sauce was really good. The only thing I changed was to add 2 teaspoons dried minced onion. Two important things. Make sure you allow the sauce to set overnight and don't use too much, about 3/4 cup for a 12 inch pizza is enough. When 14 year old boys say thanks for the awesome pizza you know you have a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cornelia_sltz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yummy sauce.The combination of the condiments are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I was looking for a good pizza sauce recipe & tried this one along with 2 others... The first two I tried tasted pretty good, but this one did not until the next day... It blew the other recipes out of the water!! It's now THE recipe I use. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Mmmm delicious! Tomatoey, full of herby goodness. This had just a little heat with the pepper but it wasn't too spicy. This was a rich sauce and is great for a plain pasta when you want a simple spaghetti dish or breadstick sauce. It is very rich in flavor though so it can easily take over as a dominant flavor though so it won't just go with everything. Great though overall. I simmered this on the stovetop for about an hour and served it with toasted ravioli as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
LOVE LOVE this pizza sauce!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I'm a pizza snob. Normally I go so far as to order my favorite brand of sauce from the Internet because the stores around here don't have it. I was fresh out of that sauce and decided to try making my own, using this recipe here. It was GREAT. My changes were to add a tsp of honey, 2 tsp crushed fennel seeds, and to saute the garlic (and a little bit of the crushed red pepper) in the oil for a minute or two before adding the rest of the ingredients. Thank you so much for this recipe because it will save me hundreds in shipping costs alone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States