Essanaye's Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Essanaye's Pizza Sauce Haiku: "Better than a jar. And not difficult to make. Still, needs something else." Sauce is never the thing on a pizza that makes my stomach sing; sauce is like crust lube to me - the equivalent of mayo or mustard to a sandwich. Still, I was making pizzas a couple nights ago and wanted to try a new sauce recipe out, so I gave this one a go, and followed it exactly, except halving it, which incidentally, just covered a single large pizza. I was perplexed at not first sauteeing the garlic (or, should I make it again, diced onions and bell peppers too) in olive oil first, rather than just dumping everything into a collective simmer. I also found it unusual to add all of those dried spices, along w/ Italian Seasoning, which, for the most part, is made up of said spices, but again, I followed the recipe to the letter. Gave it a lick after 30 min. and added (as the author suggested) a bit more brown sugar, along w/ some finely-chopped fresh rosemary. I left half my pizza plain cheese so I could get a taste for the sauce in its completed pizza glory, and the other half (*drool*), I piled w/ grilled chicken, spinach, mushrooms, roasted red peppers, carmelized onions, and leftover hunks of "Pinwheel Meatloaf" (AR) and, well, for me, pizza's all about the toppings; however, this sauce WAS a nice change from store-bought sauce, and I'd make it again w/ my proposed modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I'm a pizza snob. Normally I go so far as to order my favorite brand of sauce from the Internet because the stores around here don't have it. I was fresh out of that sauce and decided to try making my own, using this recipe here. It was GREAT. My changes were to add a tsp of honey, 2 tsp crushed fennel seeds, and to saute the garlic (and a little bit of the crushed red pepper) in the oil for a minute or two before adding the rest of the ingredients. Thank you so much for this recipe because it will save me hundreds in shipping costs alone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
crushed fennel seed is what would made this above the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I cut this down to make enough sauce for 2 pizzas. I actually made this a few days ago and had it sitting in the fridge to meld the flavors. Paired this great sauce with the quick and easy pizza crust and the potato crust pizza both from this site. I'm going to be making a large batch of this and canning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Wow! This was delicious. It is zesty and flavorful without overpowering the rest of the pizza. Plus, it was very easy to make. This will be our stand-by pizza sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made pizza for our church youth group for super bowl party. This sauce was really good. The only thing I changed was to add 2 teaspoons dried minced onion. Two important things. Make sure you allow the sauce to set overnight and don't use too much, about 3/4 cup for a 12 inch pizza is enough. When 14 year old boys say thanks for the awesome pizza you know you have a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
finally! Even my husband liked it. The kids loved it. I actually had just used my last bit of tomato paste so I went to this recipe. So glad I did! I let the flavors marinate together for about a week, so I had it ready to go when I got around to making the dough. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Egg Beater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
What I thought was a large can of tomato sauce in the pantry actually turned out to be crushed tomatoes, which is probably what this sauce needed -- some texture. And because my fresh herbs are growing so abundantly, I finished the sauce with chopped thyme, basil and oregano after letting the sauce cook with the recommended 2 tsp dried Italian seasoning. Using a sheer layer of sauce and whole basil leaves, I topped grilled dough for a light, very delicious late-night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This sauce was awesome! I might try using fresh herbs next time just to see how it turns out. But, even with the dried herbs (and some of mine are kinda old) it was an awesome sauce! Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Mmmm delicious! Tomatoey, full of herby goodness. This had just a little heat with the pepper but it wasn't too spicy. This was a rich sauce and is great for a plain pasta when you want a simple spaghetti dish or breadstick sauce. It is very rich in flavor though so it can easily take over as a dominant flavor though so it won't just go with everything. Great though overall. I simmered this on the stovetop for about an hour and served it with toasted ravioli as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States