Espresso Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
If you like chocolate covered coffee beans from the gourmet stores, this is for you. I made one batch exactly as described (had decaf hazelnut beans on hand) and my husband loved it, but I thought the texture of whole beans were a little overwhelming when eating. The second batch I coursely ground the beans and added about a teaspoon of decaf instant coffee to make the chocolate itself have a coffee flavor too. Incidentally, I forgot the butter in the second batch and it didn't seem to matter. Melted the white chocolate separately and swirled it in the top as others have mentioned (using a toothpick for marbled effect), and with these changes would give it 5 stars. Another fancy touch is to score the chocolate when it is almost cooled (about 5-10 minutes in the fridge), then you can break it into beautifully even squares (1" is plenty at a time!) A unique treat that is surprisingly easy to throw together. People either LOVE LOVE it, or can't make it through one bite... count me in the first category. Fabulous next to a powerful red wine or a strong cup of after-dinner coffee. POW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFAUGHNAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this twice in one weekend to try out different methods. The first time I coarsely ground the coffee and swirled in the white chocolate at the end. The final result was a bit messy looking, thin and, as expected, gritty. The second time I left the beans whole and drizzled white chocolate on top after the bark had completely set. The final result was thick and beautiful! For both trials I scored the bark after 2-3 minutes in the freezer which made slicing once completely set very easy. This recipe yielded 24 nice-sized pieces. I bake part-time and I break down all my recipes to cost of ingredients - this recipe, using Starbucks whole coffee beans and Ghiardelli chocolate, cost $5.09/batch. All in all, this is a fast, easy, cheap and impressive treat that I'll be making again an again for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Delicious & easy. Used unsalted butter instead of margarine & it made no difference. Put it back in the freezer when halfway through breaking apart for a few minutes as it was getting a little soft. I scored it with a knife to make it easier to break. Already e-mailed this to my daughter who is a lawyer & doesn't have time for complicated recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIRDBRAINS5
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
OMG if I could give this 100 stars I would. AMAZING!!!! I used decaf french roast coffee beans and dark chocolate. I did not put the white chocolate on top. Also I spread it onto foil instead of wax paper. This was so so so so so so good. And SUPER easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
WOW! And I am not even a huge chocolate fan. I did run the beans through the grinder for a second so it was more bits than whole beans. sprinkled the coffee dust along with the crushed white chocolate on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bcoffe
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I modified this resume to use Butterscotch Chips instead of White Chocolate, increased butter to 1 TBSP, and sprinkled with coconut flakes for color. Additionally I used 1/4 cup of whole coffee beans and the other 1/2 cup of beans I ground slightly as was suggested by other reviewers. I then put in fridge for about an hour and then cut carefully with a Pizza cutter. Taste Great. Next time I might try dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made these into tablespoon-ful drops with 2-3 Fench Vanilla coffee beans on top. I added cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the chocolate to complement the French Vanilla flavor, I omitted the white choocolate. I gave these as a birthday present to a co-worker and reveived rave reviews! She asked for the recipe....Works great for making chocolate-covered strawberries as well. Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was really, really good! The only comment I have is that - while I love coffee beans, etc. - I probably would use a little less next time. I prefer a little more chocolate ratio than I had with using what the recipe calls for. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
A great addition to the holiday treats, and a plus that it's so easy to make! It looks lovely and tastes great. I did crush the beans slightly, then sifted out the smallest bits so I wouldn't have grit in the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
LOVE this one, but it will wire me up too much! Maybe use decaf beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States