Espresso Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
If you like chocolate covered coffee beans from the gourmet stores, this is for you. I made one batch exactly as described (had decaf hazelnut beans on hand) and my husband loved it, but I thought the texture of whole beans were a little overwhelming when eating. The second batch I coursely ground the beans and added about a teaspoon of decaf instant coffee to make the chocolate itself have a coffee flavor too. Incidentally, I forgot the butter in the second batch and it didn't seem to matter. Melted the white chocolate separately and swirled it in the top as others have mentioned (using a toothpick for marbled effect), and with these changes would give it 5 stars. Another fancy touch is to score the chocolate when it is almost cooled (about 5-10 minutes in the fridge), then you can break it into beautifully even squares (1" is plenty at a time!) A unique treat that is surprisingly easy to throw together. People either LOVE LOVE it, or can't make it through one bite... count me in the first category. Fabulous next to a powerful red wine or a strong cup of after-dinner coffee. POW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFAUGHNAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
If you use whole coffee beans, be prepared for the extreme crunch and texture--some people I gave this to didn't like it. I used white chocolate chips and sprinkled them on top--pretty effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
WOW! And I am not even a huge chocolate fan. I did run the beans through the grinder for a second so it was more bits than whole beans. sprinkled the coffee dust along with the crushed white chocolate on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I also added walnuts and this was amazing! Everyone loved it. I used ground coffe and just mized it in with the chocolate mix. I made for christmas presents. I made four batches of it and it still wasn't enough because everyone loved it so much! Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
WOW was this good. You really have to like coffee though. It was so very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Everyone loves it, keep away from kids though or you'll pay! Blending the grounds fine went over better than the chunks, they got stuck in your teeth, for more flavors try different blends of coffee. Vanilla, hazelnut, Jamaican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I never thought coffee beans could taste so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYT6366

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Awsome!!! The white chocolate bar I bought was pretty hard to crush though so I also melted that down in the microwave and drizzled it ontop rather than pressing it in chunks, just as good!! Thank you for this great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made these into tablespoon-ful drops with 2-3 Fench Vanilla coffee beans on top. I added cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the chocolate to complement the French Vanilla flavor, I omitted the white choocolate. I gave these as a birthday present to a co-worker and reveived rave reviews! She asked for the recipe....Works great for making chocolate-covered strawberries as well. Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I made this last night using bittersweet chocolate chips. I didn't have wax paper, so I used aluminum foil and it worked fine. I also left out the white chocolate sprinkled on top. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States