Espiros Dois (II) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Thank you for the recipe very much! I just wanted to also stick up for you. Vovo also means grandma Espiros also mean meringue which anyone could sigh over. Brazillian portuguese is not the same as the Azores, Central CA or Portugal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these for a very good friend who is Portuguese. They turned out quite good but even after making 2 batches they were chewy on the bottom and hollow. I guess they aren't supposed to be that way? They still got gobbed up on Christmas though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmoelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I don't know if mine were what they are supposed to be, I followed the directions exactly, but I didn't care for them. Maybe I'll try some other time and see if I get different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quante318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Thanks for the recipe Scotty. My family is from Portugal and this is my mom's favorite cookie. I didn't give a full five stars because mine didn't look like the ones I see in the bakery...but I have to say they're still delicious! I think my egg white amount might have been off since the eggs were different sizes, but I'm definitly going to try to make them again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These are quite refreshing! Of course, I never have vinegar on-hand so I substituted 2 tsp of lemon juice for the vinegar. Makes for a nice chewy, lemony cookie. They're also quite pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I love suspiros! sweet and light. I suggest dipping in quince ou starberry jelly. By the was, suspiros is the right name of this little marvel. espiros are sneezes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lourinhã, Lisboa, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Good stuff Scotty! I'm not Portuguese, but I grew up in New Bedford eating lots of Portuguese cuisine. This reminds me of holidays over my friends house. I live in Vegas now, but my buddy who's family owns the Salchicaria in New Bedford send me boxes of great Portuguese food to enjoy out here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Scotty, I loved you recipe. Being Brazilian (portuguese speeking), I ask you to please correct 2 words: grandmother is "Vovo┬┤" and sighs is "Suspiros".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States