Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I actually made this exactly as written with only one small change and I thought it was great. All I did was use pan spray and only 1 teaspoon of the oil, otherwise I stuck to the recipe. DH on the other hand, didn't care for it. Oh, he ate it because he'll eat just about anything, but he complained the whole time. I'll definitely make this again, but I'll save it for my own lunch. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Was not that great definitely needed more of somethin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The kids love Indian food but they did not like this too much. My husband and I both liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is a very traditional Spanish dish or tapas, I grew up on this and is the ONLY way I would eat my spinach! This recipe is fine BUT it is missing a very important ingredient, Sweet Spanish Paprika, just use regular if thats what you have, also white wine, some add coriander and some recipes use bread in it but honestly it is already so hearty that I feel it works best without the bread. Cumin goes perfectly with this dish contrary to the other review and please please don't destroy this wonderful dish by adding cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and I found it very bad tasting. My friend that tried it agreed. It sounded so promising as I love all the ingredients but it just wasn't good - IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Ran out of cumin so I threw in turmeric. This made it a little more middle eastern/indian but it was tasty! Next day mixed it with some egg noodles and feta and my daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Given all the WOW reviews I thought this would be a real winner. Whipped it up and I found it quite bitter and a non-starter. Was about to open a can of veggies to use. Instead I added a diced banana and that saved the day for me. The sweetness of the banana sure helped relieve the bitterness of the frozen spinach. I will try it again but with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Like many, I made this with what I had on hand but varied little from the recipe. Spinach was frozen (thawed and drained) and I had a jar of minced garlic so I put in four rounded teaspoons for the four garlic cloves. (I do love garlic.) It was SOOO good. I've had it as both meals and side dishes, eating it up (as I'm the only one eating it). I not only will fix it again, I'm passing it on to my favorite friends whom I know will love it. And for those who doubt cumin with spinach? Get over it, it's great!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I found this recipe to be dry. I liked the mix of foods and the smells were great by it was dry. Maybe is should not have squeezed the water from the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wow, wow, wow. Just as written. Had to cut myself off, I am so full right now. Was worried about the amount of garlic, but it was perfect (although I no doubt have garlic breath right now). Even my extremely picky 10 year old liked it. Will be making this on a very regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States