Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I happened on this looking for something to do with garbanzo beans. It is so delicious! I add quite a bit more cumin and use fresh spinach. We've had it about 5 times since I discovered the recipe. So simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is such a great light lunch or dinner! I used fresh spinach and added a shake of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The more I made this... the more I liked it!! Soon had cravings for it even! First time ever had and now becoming a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
For me and my family this was only so, so. In my opinion the beans needed some sort of sauce to off set the natural dryness that they have. I ended up tossing them into the blender, adding a bit more salt and enough water and EVOO to almost cover the beans then blended them into a tahini free hummus. That got a much better review from the family (including my one year old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Mmmm, this was delicious! Some of the other reviews criticized the cumin, so I just sprinkled a few pinches on top when I was stirring in salt and pepper. Very tasty and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good! Loved the cumin. And, I used a 16 oz bag of frozen spinach. Added just a bit of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I used frozen spinach, but I think it would be better with fresh, since the spinach was kind of dry by the end. And, I think if you're going to use frozen, you need 2 boxes of frozen spinach for the rest of the proportions of ingredients to work as written. I didn't use onion, since in Spain I don't remember them using any. I cooked the spinach in one pan. Then in another I put the garlic and olive oil with 2 slices of bread torn up into pieces. When the bread and garlic were golden brown, I took them out and ground it together with the a full tsp of cumin, more salt than called for, a pinch of cayenne pepper, and 2 tsps of paprika (paprika is key to make it authentic spanish!). Then I combined it all and let it heat through for a few minutes, mashing it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
imo the recipe on its own is missing that little something. so i added crispy chopped bacon and a hint of white wine- very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I absolutely love the combination of all these ingredients but never thought of putting them together until I came across this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alice
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
As written this is a good recipe, and I reccomend it as is. How ever everytime I make it there is an addition and last nights was the best. I added some bacon, jalapenos, cubed chicken breast, doubled the cumin, some red pepper flakes, and mixed in a can hot rotel tomatoes. No left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States