Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Easy to make; plain and satisfying, reminds me of childhood foods. Definitely a good healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
So easy, so fast, and so GOOD! I struggle to add vegetables to my children's diet but both my eight year old and my 3 year old liked this. You could definitely eat this with some rice as a meal on its own. We served this with basmati rice and a rotissire chicken for a quick healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is an excellent dish hot or cold and as a side or main dish. Adding a generous amount of lemon is a must. I always use fresh spinach and toast the cumin. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I just made this. My house smells amazing. I put lard in the cast iron, browned the chickpeas for a while and added spices including curry. I did not use cumin as it is a hispanic herb and I wanted to make this more Indian. I used fresh spinach and just wilted it. I added salt, garlic powder, pepper, and it is so so so good. My one year old is chowing down on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I am yet to find a better side dish than this, honestly! Spinach and garbanzo beans is a match made in heaven... Onion and garlic give it veggie flavor, and nutmeg just completes it. As other reviews suggested, I did use a splash of water to help spinach cook and keep its color bright green, and served it with white fish and brown rice. After I tried it, I let the fish and rice be and finished several helpings of this delicious dish, it can indeed be a meal on its own! I made it several times since and will keep making! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
we really enjoyed this recipe. fresh and healthy tasting, with simple ingredients. an excellent side dish and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is delicious! However, it seemed a little dry as it was cooking so I added a little chicken broth. That made it easier to smash the beans and added a nice flavor surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
used 12 oz of fresh spinach, and added half of the cumin, then added the rest little by little to be sure that i didn't use too much. a little extra olive oil, and a grate of fresh nutmeg were the only changes i made. someone mentioned that a little white wine would be good, so i'll try that next time. very tasty. i think a little smoked paprika would be a good addition. i may try it using white beans in place of the garbanzos. with some sliced spanish style chorizo added, and crusty bread, this would be be a great, easy, fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
We really enjoyed this! We used fresh spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. The cumin adds a nice flavor. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made recipe exactly per directions except for substituting minced garlic for garlic cloves (based on what I had in stock) and using fresh spinach instead of frozen (based on reviews). Great recipe - very tasty, healthy, and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States