Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This is something we grew up eating, its a wonderful comforting dish. My mother used to add a small can of tomato sauce to the recipe, its terrific and heart healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Super easy and super fast, it doesn't get any better than this. Greens and beans is a huge hit with my Italian husband, and this recipe meets his high standards. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was excellent, and easy to make. I had never had escarole or cannellini beans. Next time I will only use the leaves on the escarole, and cut out all of the "rib" part. I used 3 teaspoons of olive oil instead of tablespoons. I didn't use the parsley; instead used some of the "grinder" seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Thanks for this recipe!! I had been dying to find a recipe similar to a dish I vaguely remembered that my father used to make. Using this recipe, I altered it to fit the way my father used to make it, which was to simmer the cannellini beans in chicken broth and mix the entire mixture in a baking dish with day old bread. Thanks for the recipe, and for the nostalgia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe, but my husband and children did not. So I had to give it a four because of this. I thought it was really good. Only thing I'm changing next time is when I get the escarole I'm going to chop it into smaller pieces and throw out the bottoms and any other white part. The white part had a bitter after taste. I'm going to keep feeding it to the family, make them learn to like it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Absolutely amazing! I added about a cup of tomato sauce and sprinkled parmesan cheese on it at the table. With these tweaks it's just like the escarole and beans at our favorite Italian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMON79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
WOW! Unbelievble good and easy. I added a small can of tomato sauce -- and of course extra garlic -- and let simmer while I went for my walk. Incredible flavor. Comfort food at its best. Even better, my husband loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dick Cain
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Easy to make! Absolutely delicious! Would serve this to anyone. It went great with a baked chicken breast supreme and roasted mushroom potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Outstanding! I made it into a soup by using only one escarole, 2 cups of chicken broth, a cup of Prego pasta sauce and 2 sliced chicken basil sausages. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is great! I get four lunches out of one batch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States