Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is very, very good--even leftover and cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This has been one of the worst recipes I have ever tried. The flavor is good but the texture isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was creamy and delicious. Everyone in my family loved it. I only used one large head of escarole and one can of beans. I wouldn't have been able to fit any more escarole into my largest pan, it was towering! Of course, like spinach, it melted down to next to nothing, but it was enough for a side dish for dinner for the three of us with a smidge left over. I used extra garlic - probably chopped three or four cloves and I left out the parsley. Just because I forgot it. I also added a few gratings of romano cheese and stirred it in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is great! I get four lunches out of one batch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Outstanding! I made it into a soup by using only one escarole, 2 cups of chicken broth, a cup of Prego pasta sauce and 2 sliced chicken basil sausages. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dick Cain
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Easy to make! Absolutely delicious! Would serve this to anyone. It went great with a baked chicken breast supreme and roasted mushroom potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
WOW! Unbelievble good and easy. I added a small can of tomato sauce -- and of course extra garlic -- and let simmer while I went for my walk. Incredible flavor. Comfort food at its best. Even better, my husband loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Absolutely amazing! I added about a cup of tomato sauce and sprinkled parmesan cheese on it at the table. With these tweaks it's just like the escarole and beans at our favorite Italian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMON79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe, but my husband and children did not. So I had to give it a four because of this. I thought it was really good. Only thing I'm changing next time is when I get the escarole I'm going to chop it into smaller pieces and throw out the bottoms and any other white part. The white part had a bitter after taste. I'm going to keep feeding it to the family, make them learn to like it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Thanks for this recipe!! I had been dying to find a recipe similar to a dish I vaguely remembered that my father used to make. Using this recipe, I altered it to fit the way my father used to make it, which was to simmer the cannellini beans in chicken broth and mix the entire mixture in a baking dish with day old bread. Thanks for the recipe, and for the nostalgia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States