Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Always excellent...BE SURE to cut off the tough stems and cut the escarole in smaller pieces. Try cutting up pieces of pepperoni in it WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I learned this recipe a long time ago from a fabulous elder italian grandma. It must have a taste of garlic and even better the garlic should be cooked well almost burnt. You should cut the pieces of escarole small or it becomes a long stringy glob. Also, you can make it into a soup by adding chicken stock and easier for those who don't like the thick gooey consistency. This meal satisfies your hunger without a doubt. Please use at least 4 cloves of garlic and sprinkle some granulated garlic as well. You can add very small meatballs with the quart or so of chicken stock and it is like italian wedding soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Good side dish, really easy to prepare. Only thing I would change is add some garlic powder along with more garlic in the mix. And yes TWeak the cooking time, my beans ended up being mushy. Good idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe was great! It is my favorite Italian dish, and there are so many things to do with it. I added some cooked chicken pieces this time, but I really love Italian sausage in it as well. It is great with chicken broth and day old hard bread as someone suggested. I only had one head of escarole, so I used some frozen chopped spinash too. Wonderful!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Absolutely delicious, as well as easy and quick to prepare. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This dish came out delicious. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
great wintery comfort food! I ate almost the whole thing for lunch. I think I will try some onion in it next time for another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWATwife
Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
So easy and tasted great! This one is a keeper. Try added some pecorino romano to it. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is excellent. Easy to cook with few ingredients and vey tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
the taste was great- hubby loved it- but i found it to be "mushy"- the beans were cooked much longer than necessary. i also would have preferred a chicken stock base instead of only the juice from the beans. i think the escarole, garlic, oil and salt and peppers should cook first for 10 minutes, then the beans and some chicken stock added second and cooked for another 3 minutes max. good taste but cooking directions need to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States