Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So, So Good!!!! definite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
it was a good hearty meal. need more garlic. i would drain the beans first as it came out too creamy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
perfect every time, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good and simple. I did add a little extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very good. I followed the recipe but think it could use more garlic flavor. Next time I will saute some garlic cloves in the oil before adding the escarole. My mom made this all the time but always used the dried beans and boiled the escarole. I will try it with the dried beans next time also, you get more sauce that way. But I do prefer frying the escarole. Thanks for a great recipe Krista.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I always add chicken broth to mine because I like it a bit more soupy. Also, you can use other types of beans besides cannelli. Garbanzo beans are good with this recipe. Once served, top it with shaved Parmesan or Romano cheese for a nice added touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
My father's fiance is Italian, and an amazing cook. I always wondered how to make this, and this recipe gave me an excellent base to make it like she does. I would use less beans than this recipe calls for and much, much, MUCH more garlic. No black pepper, the red pepper does a fine job at bringing some spice to it as is. Someone earlier suggested 4 cloves, I would use more than that even, much more. I used minced garlic from a jar. I used the 4 cloves in the beans, and on top of that I cooked the escarole with another 4, at least. This was great served over rice (boiled in water with margarine, chopped onion and chicken bouillon) and with italian bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Delicious! I only used one head of escarole, cooked it, and then I added the beans to it. Great flavor and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was nostalgic comfort food at its best for me--took me right back to my childhood and outstanding food prepared by my Italian grandma and my mother. The recipe doesn't specify, but the escarole should be roughly chopped. Also, you'll think you're starting out with a lot but, like other greens, it gives off a lot of moisture and cooks down to a fraction of its original volume. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States