Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Delicious side dish! I used spinach instead of escarole because I couldn't find it here. Would serve this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I wanted to dislike this, but it was good! Added 1 cup spaghetti sauce mostly because I thought my kids would be more likely to eat it (getting them to chew greens isn't always successful) -- this is great gluten free Italian dish/spaghetti night alternative and would be killer with some Italian sausage. I used tons of garlic, and pinto beans bc I had a fresh crock of them on the counter. (They're all the same right?) This doesn't make a ton though, just enough for two hungry adults and two bottomless toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Easy and yummy made it twice already. Left out pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very tasty, but a lot of work! Took 20 minutes just to rinse all the grit out 2 heads. Tore into pieces rather than cut it up, discarding the white stems. As per others, used one can of beans and lots more garlic and garlic powder. Also added 1/2 cup chicken stock and a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar, as it need a bit of acid. Makes enough for about 4 side servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I've been making this for years (learned it from my grandmother). Here are a few variations you may want to try to kick it up and make it a meal and less of a "side dish." 1. CHEESE! This recipe is missing the delicious grated parmesan/romano or fontenella cheese on top. 2. Add Italian sausage (cook the sausage first, then add to the final dish) 3. Add seasoned chicken (season with your favorite spices and cube. Saute first, then add to the final dish) 4. Add diced onion for a little extra flavor and for a little crunch if you don't over-cook the onion. 5. Add it all! We use this as our base, and make a big pot with added meat and lots of cheese for a big, easy family meal without a lot of cooking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very good and quick. To make even quicker and turn it into an awesome 'scarole and bean soup...dont bother with the second pan. Pour olive oil in large pot, brown the garlic a little and toss the chopped escarole in. Wilt that down with the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and then toss in the cans of beans right on top. Add 16oz vegetable broth and a healthy handful of Locitelli cheese and let it all cook down and simmer for 30 minutes. Best stuff on a rainy cold day and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe like my Mom & Grandmom used to make when I was young, and this comes very close. Like other reviewers here, I coarsely chopped the escarole after washing thoroughly. I added a chopped/sliced onion to the escarole & increased the garlic to taste. Salt, pepper & plenty of crushed red pepper. I used one can beans which was plenty, and added it directly to the cooked escarole avoiding the 2 pan method. Comes out deliciously creamy. Top with grated parmesan/romano cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Love it. I make this often and always add some parmesan cheese on top. Very good with the Herb Bread toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Awesome recipe, delicious and healthy at once. I have also added veggie or chicken stock and prepared as more of a soup, drizzled w evoo and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Served w fresh, crusty peasant loaf. Sublime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille      L Mac Lean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States