Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I make this quite often. I also add sausage once in a while and it's a meal. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise PK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Made this for dinner last night. It was 2 of us so, I cut it in half .(except red pepper and parsley). It was delicious and reminiscent of a meal my grandmother made when I was a child. She used bacon fat but we are trying to eat healthy so just some olive oil. I think I could eat this 5 nights a week but my husband wouldn't be happy about that. Try it the way the recipe says and you wont be disappointed. I did tear the escarole in smaller pieces just to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Being Italian I heard my relatives talk about this dish but I never had it. It was excellent. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Delicious side dish! I used spinach instead of escarole because I couldn't find it here. Would serve this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Easy and yummy made it twice already. Left out pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very tasty, but a lot of work! Took 20 minutes just to rinse all the grit out 2 heads. Tore into pieces rather than cut it up, discarding the white stems. As per others, used one can of beans and lots more garlic and garlic powder. Also added 1/2 cup chicken stock and a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar, as it need a bit of acid. Makes enough for about 4 side servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I've been making this for years (learned it from my grandmother). Here are a few variations you may want to try to kick it up and make it a meal and less of a "side dish." 1. CHEESE! This recipe is missing the delicious grated parmesan/romano or fontenella cheese on top. 2. Add Italian sausage (cook the sausage first, then add to the final dish) 3. Add seasoned chicken (season with your favorite spices and cube. Saute first, then add to the final dish) 4. Add diced onion for a little extra flavor and for a little crunch if you don't over-cook the onion. 5. Add it all! We use this as our base, and make a big pot with added meat and lots of cheese for a big, easy family meal without a lot of cooking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very good and quick. To make even quicker and turn it into an awesome 'scarole and bean soup...dont bother with the second pan. Pour olive oil in large pot, brown the garlic a little and toss the chopped escarole in. Wilt that down with the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and then toss in the cans of beans right on top. Add 16oz vegetable broth and a healthy handful of Locitelli cheese and let it all cook down and simmer for 30 minutes. Best stuff on a rainy cold day and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe like my Mom & Grandmom used to make when I was young, and this comes very close. Like other reviewers here, I coarsely chopped the escarole after washing thoroughly. I added a chopped/sliced onion to the escarole & increased the garlic to taste. Salt, pepper & plenty of crushed red pepper. I used one can beans which was plenty, and added it directly to the cooked escarole avoiding the 2 pan method. Comes out deliciously creamy. Top with grated parmesan/romano cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Love it. I make this often and always add some parmesan cheese on top. Very good with the Herb Bread toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States