Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I learned this recipe a long time ago from a fabulous elder italian grandma. It must have a taste of garlic and even better the garlic should be cooked well almost burnt. You should cut the pieces of escarole small or it becomes a long stringy glob. Also, you can make it into a soup by adding chicken stock and easier for those who don't like the thick gooey consistency. This meal satisfies your hunger without a doubt. Please use at least 4 cloves of garlic and sprinkle some granulated garlic as well. You can add very small meatballs with the quart or so of chicken stock and it is like italian wedding soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was creamy and delicious. Everyone in my family loved it. I only used one large head of escarole and one can of beans. I wouldn't have been able to fit any more escarole into my largest pan, it was towering! Of course, like spinach, it melted down to next to nothing, but it was enough for a side dish for dinner for the three of us with a smidge left over. I used extra garlic - probably chopped three or four cloves and I left out the parsley. Just because I forgot it. I also added a few gratings of romano cheese and stirred it in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe, but my husband and children did not. So I had to give it a four because of this. I thought it was really good. Only thing I'm changing next time is when I get the escarole I'm going to chop it into smaller pieces and throw out the bottoms and any other white part. The white part had a bitter after taste. I'm going to keep feeding it to the family, make them learn to like it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Thanks for this recipe!! I had been dying to find a recipe similar to a dish I vaguely remembered that my father used to make. Using this recipe, I altered it to fit the way my father used to make it, which was to simmer the cannellini beans in chicken broth and mix the entire mixture in a baking dish with day old bread. Thanks for the recipe, and for the nostalgia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This is something we grew up eating, its a wonderful comforting dish. My mother used to add a small can of tomato sauce to the recipe, its terrific and heart healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
the taste was great- hubby loved it- but i found it to be "mushy"- the beans were cooked much longer than necessary. i also would have preferred a chicken stock base instead of only the juice from the beans. i think the escarole, garlic, oil and salt and peppers should cook first for 10 minutes, then the beans and some chicken stock added second and cooked for another 3 minutes max. good taste but cooking directions need to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Absolutely amazing! I added about a cup of tomato sauce and sprinkled parmesan cheese on it at the table. With these tweaks it's just like the escarole and beans at our favorite Italian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMON79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I would give this 6 stars if I could. I was afraid it would be bitter, but it's not! It's delicious and I am going to make it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Outstanding! I made it into a soup by using only one escarole, 2 cups of chicken broth, a cup of Prego pasta sauce and 2 sliced chicken basil sausages. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was excellent, and easy to make. I had never had escarole or cannellini beans. Next time I will only use the leaves on the escarole, and cut out all of the "rib" part. I used 3 teaspoons of olive oil instead of tablespoons. I didn't use the parsley; instead used some of the "grinder" seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States