Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was nostalgic comfort food at its best for me--took me right back to my childhood and outstanding food prepared by my Italian grandma and my mother. The recipe doesn't specify, but the escarole should be roughly chopped. Also, you'll think you're starting out with a lot but, like other greens, it gives off a lot of moisture and cooks down to a fraction of its original volume. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fast, healthy side to Italian Breaded Pork Chops. I used one huge head of escarole and drained one of the cans of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Well, i'm obviously in the minority here ... I was NOT impressed with this meal .. probably because I'm not the biggest bean lover. My husband said "well, not EVERYTHING you make can be good." Hmmph. There were no instructions as to how to cut the escarole and so I left the leaves whole ... big mistake! If you're going to make this I would suggest cutting the leaves up in slightly bigger than bite-sized pieces. I also felt the bean to escarole ratio was wrong .. too many beans! I used two large heads of escarole ... maybe if I had chopped the leaves it would have seemed like there was more escarole because the escarole DID seem to lump up in the middle of the pan. DEFINITELY use more garlic. I used 3 cloves AND garlic powder and it could have used more. Also, at the suggestion of relatives who *love* this meal I served it over penne pasta. Apparantly this is the rage in Italian restaurants on the East coast. I don't know, living on the West coast myself (and since I LOVE Italian food I doubt that even if I did live on the East coast I would order beans over yummy cheesy saucy pasta at a restaurant!). All in all, I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
YUM! I was hesitant since I think escarole can be quite bitter, but this was delicious. I used 3 large cloves of garlic but everything else was the same. I added some cooked chicken sausage in towards the end since I had it leftover in the fridge and thought it would go well to round out the meal. It did. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Excellent classic recipe. Great as written as a side dish. For a change I sometimes cook the escarole in chicken broth and make it a soup, thickening it up a bit with cornstarch. Served this was with bread it can be a meal in itself. I also adjust the garlic accordning to taste. Thanks for delicious simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent simple recipe. I added a bit more garlic (3 cloves total). I also made it a bit more soup like - I added chicken stock (which means you obviously need to transfer to the beans/escarole to a pot). You can throw some white wine in there too. Serve with a nice crusty bread and great bottle of red wine and you are good to go. This recipe is delicious as is too, so you can keep it as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Easy and delicious. I sliced browned bratwurst and added. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at making escarole and I'm not in love with it, but I probably will try it again. It's something different. I agree with suggestions about using more garlic. I put quite a bit in mine and wouldn't mind even more. I would say that the combination of beans with the escarole is a nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was yummy and escarole and beans is one of my favorites! I followed the recipes as is, it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I was skeptical about adding the liquid from the bean can, but decided to follow the recipe as written. It was delicious, very easy and well recieved by my DH. Next time I'll try adding the Trader Joe's Turkey meatballs for a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States